★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

(ipad,synth) Novation Launchkey: free while new (don't know how long it will be free)

12-14-2012, 04:35 AM
#1
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 5,506
(ipad,synth) Novation Launchkey: free while new (don't know how long it will be free)

It's by...Novation ...ya might have heard of their midi controllers and analogue synths (Nova, Station series, etc.)

Well, this is free for now, but I don't know how long it will last. Ipad only.


C: :###
If you want to friend me on GC,tell me you're from TA and include your screen name.
GC: DON'TSHOOT!
12-14-2012, 05:14 AM
#2
I'm grabbing this now. You continue to surprise me, thanks for sharing dude.

12-14-2012, 05:33 AM
#3
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,335
Really fun synth to play with. It lacks pretty much everything in terms of any kind of iOS integration like record & ACP, MIDI etc. And no way to make your own patches. Hence the low intro price. But I'm sure it will be updated down the road.

Soundcloud:
http://soundcloud.com/chris1a-1
Audiobombs (presets and templates for iOS synths):
https://www.audiobombs.com/users/ChrisG
12-14-2012, 05:48 AM
#4
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,937
As Chris has said, it's a very basic synth in the toy stage right now but also shows potential to be very interesting. It sort of combines X/Y pads with Sunrizer's A/B wheel functionality to get quick and interesting variations in one patch. This will be very fun to put into actual workflow once we get ACP, MIDI in and hopefully Audiobus support.

"Don't Do This Or You'll Get Banned"
—Unnecessary Sass Towards The Admins—
12-14-2012, 06:03 AM
#5
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,937
There's MIDI In and background audio! You can set MIDI in channel from the iOS settings app. Now, in the second screenshot I can see Edit/Save in the Patch loading area... how do we do that?!

Confirmed working virtual MIDI in.

"Don't Do This Or You'll Get Banned"
—Unnecessary Sass Towards The Admins—
12-14-2012, 06:42 AM
#6
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by sapphire_neo View Post
There's MIDI In and background audio! You can set MIDI in channel from the iOS settings app. Now, in the second screenshot I can see Edit/Save in the Patch loading area... how do we do that?!

Confirmed working virtual MIDI in.
Yea your right. Weird not to make those midi settings available in the app. Haven't figured out how to get the save patch thing to show tho.

Soundcloud:
http://soundcloud.com/chris1a-1
Audiobombs (presets and templates for iOS synths):
https://www.audiobombs.com/users/ChrisG
12-14-2012, 07:13 AM
#7
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 4,441
Thanks for the info, guys! Promising. Tried it on iPad 4. Sounds pretty good. Nice animated "performance area" with nodes and knobs. Recommended!

Hurry up! Handpicked & Time-Limited App Store FREEbies & Sales
(Blog German-language; but you'll find all links, pics, and videos.)
12-14-2012, 07:53 AM
#8
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 5,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by repapermunky View Post
I'm grabbing this now. You continue to surprise me, thanks for sharing dude.
It's because I usually sleep 2 hours a night and constantly hit up the "new" category in my app apps and in itunes in the music category. BTW, music apps seem to usually launch on thursaday and friday. Not Wednesday. I've got only god only knows how many midi controllers that launched free.
12-14-2012, 07:57 AM
#9
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 5,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Habakuk View Post
Thanks for the info, guys! Promising. Tried it on iPad 4. Sounds pretty good. Nice animated "performance area" with nodes and knobs. Recommended!
So much can go wrong with a music app on launch...there's a lot of input/output passing through various channels; connecting with other apps/controllers/computer software/dedicated hardware etc. I wonder if some of these apps are released free with little publicity (Novation's website only mentions, or it did, their midi control app) in order to stress test it a bit. A bit of a public beta, you could say.
12-14-2012, 11:06 AM
#10
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,937
That second screenshot with Edit/Save is gone now, I guess it was a mistake. but hopefully it's a sign of things to come.

"Don't Do This Or You'll Get Banned"
—Unnecessary Sass Towards The Admins—