Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Other > Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2013, 12:17 AM
Greyskull Greyskull is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 5,142
Default Just bought the Korg Polysix app...

My god does it sound awesome (not quite as warm and analog-sounding as the ms-20, of course)...but it looks like I won't have much of a game budget for a while. Eh, it was get it now or watvh the price go up in 2 days. Did anyone with half a brain buy the Korg Gorillaz synth? It can't actually be used for much, since the samples/patches are not for free use.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2013, 05:12 AM
Teknikal Teknikal is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast N Ireland
Posts: 2,022
Default

Does seem a bit expensive although I know Korg is very well regarded in synths, personally I'd have just imported the korg soundbank into something like nano studio. Not quite the same I admit but I'm a cheapskate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2013, 05:36 AM
MidianGTX MidianGTX is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,766
Default

Holy crap, I just noticed the iMS-20 got updated for retina. Can anyone link to some screens? I didn't buy it because I'm obsessive about apps looking good when I'm paying a lot of money for them.

Also, does anyone know if it's a strain on the iPad 3 performance-wise? I'm not sure how intensive these apps can be, but something is telling me it can get fairly serious pretty fast when you start getting creative.

Last edited by MidianGTX; 01-30-2013 at 05:44 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2013, 05:55 AM
chris1a chris1a is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,327
Default

It's only 15 bucks, I wouldn't call that expensive for a perfect emulation of a Polysix (or 8-9 Polysix synths in this case depending on how you look at it), with a host of effects, kaos pads, full automation and sequencer.

Ims-20 runs just fine on iPad 2. It's when you start using'em in Audiobus together with other apps things get a bit too much for iPad 2/3.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2013, 06:10 AM
chris1a chris1a is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,327
Default

By the way, I just bought FabFilters Saturn plugin (only 20 bucks compared to upwards $200 for the same exact thing on pc/mac) and it sounds amazing. Will definitely spice things up. Running iPolysix trough it is way to much for my iPad 2 to handle tho so I'm really thinking about upgrading to iPad 4, but it would sting if Apple releases a faster iPad this April. :/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2013, 09:36 AM
krautboy krautboy is online now
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1a View Post
It's only 15 bucks, I wouldn't call that expensive for a perfect emulation of a Polysix (or 8-9 Polysix synths in this case depending on how you look at it), with a host of effects, kaos pads, full automation and sequencer.

Ims-20 runs just fine on iPad 2. It's when you start using'em in Audiobus together with other apps things get a bit too much for iPad 2/3.
It's a well known problem with Korg apps and audiobus. If you happen to have a NLog synth app start that up first (after closing all other apps). It happens to be that the first app you start decides the buffer size. Nlog synth automatically decides the best buffer size for your device.
Far from a elegant solution but it works for me anyway. The audiobus guys are looking for a solution for this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2013, 09:46 AM
krautboy krautboy is online now
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 460
Default

Hi Friends,

this is how it works:

AudioBus has a fixed preferred buffer size of 256. This is simply too short for some devices like iPad mini or iPad2. Especially when involving multiple CPU hungry apps like polyphonic synths etc.

For these devices a larger buffer size of 512 works better at a little cost of extra latency which is acceptable if you trade this with avoidance of crackling.

If you start NLog before all other apps, NLog decides the buffer size in a way AudioBus and other apps are not able to change it to something else. NLog chooses the buffer size depending on the device like 1024 for iPad1, 512 for iPad2 & mini, 256 for iPad3 & 4. I made some extended tests and they seem to be a good compromise. Also they are based on 4 years of iOS synth experience ;-)

This is why NLog is able to do that:

iOS has some specific un-documented mechanisms of setting the buffer size. All apps have to use same buffer size, so they might request a specific one, but iOS might decide differently in order to find the optimum for all apps.

In order to make this decisions, iOS uses some extra information which is contained in the "Audio Session Type". Each app registers its audio work to be handle within a specific session type. There are a couple of these types. For example apps, which just produces audio but don't consume from input, are using some kind of playback session type. Other apps which read from input are using a recording session type.

When testing NLog with AudioBus I found out a mechanism how iOS manages the buffer size. The first app with a recording session type determines the buffer size. Other apps later cannot change it to something, no playback apps nor recording apps.

NLog is a recording app since it reads from the audio input for effect processing. Thus, when you start NLog first, all is fine. You even do not need to put NLog into AudioBus. It just works since NLog manages the buffer size depending on the device capabilities.

Hope that helps!

Best Rolf

This explains it way better than i can!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2013, 10:14 AM
chris1a chris1a is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,327
Default

Should add that Krautboy copy & pasted the above from a thread on the Audiobus forum where Rolf, the creator of Nlog, explained work arounds for Audiobus low latency requirements.

Actually any app that grabs the recording session first dictates the buffer. So if you have Auria or Meteor for example and start any of those first it will do the same.

Anyway, Audiobus with the buffer switch between 256 and 512 was released today so the above workarounds aren't needed (unless you need a even higher buffer/latency).

Last edited by chris1a; 01-30-2013 at 10:21 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2013, 11:53 AM
krautboy krautboy is online now
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1a View Post
Should add that Krautboy copy & pasted the above from a thread on the Audiobus forum where Rolf, the creator of Nlog, explained work arounds for Audiobus low latency requirements.

Actually any app that grabs the recording session first dictates the buffer. So if you have Auria or Meteor for example and start any of those first it will do the same.

Anyway, Audiobus with the buffer switch between 256 and 512 was released today so the above workarounds aren't needed (unless you need a even higher buffer/latency).
Yes,my bad. It became a bit hectic in the house as my 2 year old daughter went on a rampage.
Thanks for adding Chris.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent