Support our Sponsors:
View Poll Results: Will you be jailbreaking your iDevice?
Yes 14 60.87%
No 3 13.04%
Undecided... 6 26.09%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-04-2013, 03:39 PM
crunc crunc is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPhone 4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,092
Default

Supposedly it works with 6.0 through 6.1, so I take it you don't have to update to 6.1, but can't vouch for it. I'm on 6.1.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-04-2013, 03:58 PM
Teremei Teremei is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 131
Default

no it's true 6.0.1 is included I just figured why not update to 6.1 that way apps in the way way future if there are any that require 6.1 I can still use them. 6.1 just sounds cleaner than 6.0.1 though doesn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-04-2013, 04:08 PM
Lost_Deputy Lost_Deputy is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,774
Default

JB'd my Ipad2 without any hastle. Mainly for Blutrol and RetinaPad. Waiting on the US to go to bed so I can get busy
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-04-2013, 04:09 PM
crunc crunc is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPhone 4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,092
Default

Right now there doesn't seem to be any point in jailbreaking, at least going on what I'm seeing. It is impossible to install anything from Cydia, I presume due to the rush of people trying to get to their accounts/install anything.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-04-2013, 04:10 PM
Teremei Teremei is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crunc View Post
Right now there doesn't seem to be any point in jailbreaking, at least going on what I'm seeing. It is impossible to install anything from Cydia, I presume due to the rush of people trying to get to their accounts/install anything.
true but I'm sure by 2 or 3 a.m. in the morning I should beable to get the few apps I'm after.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-04-2013, 09:43 PM
L.Lawliet L.Lawliet is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: iPhone 6, iOS 8.x
Posts: 3,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeNeI View Post
I JB'ed my iPod touch 5 and the reason is : Zephyr,TapDeWiggle,AnyAttach,ProTube 2 etc. which make me don't use my PC anymore
Have you had no problems with it? I'm worried cuz I've read about people getting stuck on the apple logo after the new JB but sounds like it occurs more with the phones..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-05-2013, 02:07 AM
KiddToKmart KiddToKmart is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Lawliet View Post
Have you had no problems with it? I'm worried cuz I've read about people getting stuck on the apple logo after the new JB but sounds like it occurs more with the phones..
First of all.. woah! I thought this forum disappeared for good ;P

Second... it actually took 10 minutes followed by a reboot for my iPad Mini to be jailbroken successfully, as compared to my iPhone 4S which got through the process like butter.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-05-2013, 08:45 AM
crunc crunc is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPhone 4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,092
Default

My iPhone 4 took I think 6 tries before it worked. The failed tries were mostly an error after only a minute or two, but a couple times it seemed to be getting through the jailbreak process, and then reported that it couldn't communicate with "the device". However eventually it worked. Even when it did work it took much longer than 5 minutes. It rebooted many times and kind of in a frightening away, but eventually it booted up successfully. Now, though, when powering up (or after a respring), it reboots and you get the apple logo for short time, but then just a black screen. It stays that way longer than I'd like, but eventually the apple logo comes back and then I get a black screen again for another long period of time, but again eventually it starts up. It's a bit worrisome to be honest, but once up it seems to work fine.

I was finally able to get to my account and then upgrade MyWi (there's a $4.99 fee to upgrade from version 4/5 to 6). And also installed iFile. After installing it did what was allegedly a repspring, but it sure looked too me like a respring followed by a full reboot. iFile, at least, seems to work OK. I haven't tried MyWi 6.0 yet.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-05-2013, 09:29 AM
crunc crunc is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPhone 4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,092
Default

EDIT: Never mind. Well, actually what's confusing about iFile is that when I first launch it, the only thing I can see is my Dropbox folder. I have to make a new window and then I can select Local and then I can see all the local files. I'm not sure if that's a bug, or if that's a feature. In any case it is working after I do that.

Last edited by crunc; 02-05-2013 at 09:32 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-05-2013, 10:12 AM
2133 2133 is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 981
Send a message via Skype™ to 2133
Default

I just jailbreaked today, scared the crap out of me when trying to install winterboard and it just was stuck on the reboot screen.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent