★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Help with Facebook Connect

07-16-2009, 07:11 AM
#1
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 317
Send a message via ICQ to cramzy Send a message via Skype™ to cramzy
Help with Facebook Connect

Hi guys,

I am trying to add facebook connectivity from our app 18 000 COOL JOKES.
The thing is that from the sources that FB provided, I only see a way to do this by using their UI. What I want to do is to be able to to ask the user for his e-mail and password from my UI (using UITextField), and then quietly send a message in his facebook wall without showing the user any unneeded dialogs etc..

Any idea how to do that?

Thanks!

Cheers,
ILIYA
07-16-2009, 07:30 AM
#2
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 111
It's part of the Facebook Connect guidelines that you use their buttons and UI, so even if it is possible to get around it Facebook would not allow it.

The point of showing Facebook's own UI is that the user should trust it. Users may be cautious about entering their username and password for Facebook into your own UI because then you could be storing it before sending it on to Facebook.

07-16-2009, 07:33 AM
#3
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 317
Send a message via ICQ to cramzy Send a message via Skype™ to cramzy
Hey,

Thanks for the info.
Does that also mean that the user will be asked to enter his email/pass each time he wants to share one of the jokes over facebook?
Is there ANYTHING I can do to make it easier on the users? At least save the e-mail/pass locally so they don't need to re-enter them...?

Cheeers,
ILIYA
07-16-2009, 07:41 AM
#4
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 111
According to the Logging in section of the documentation the user will only have to log in and allow your app once and then it is stored in your applications preferences.

Actually, re-reading the docs a bit above that it says:

"This button will automatically display the login dialog when the user touches it. You can create the login dialog yourself if you don't want to use a standard button:"

So maybe you can create your own login dialog?
07-16-2009, 07:43 AM
#5
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 317
Send a message via ICQ to cramzy Send a message via Skype™ to cramzy
Hm...interesting.
I will dig into this later this evening. When I find the solution, I'll post here.

Meanwhile, if anybody knows it- please, save me the misery of finding it on my own

Cheers,
ILIYA
07-16-2009, 12:25 PM
#6
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 317
Send a message via ICQ to cramzy Send a message via Skype™ to cramzy
I think it won't be possible to do after all
I will stick with the facebook login screen.

Cheers,
ILIYA
07-16-2009, 01:03 PM
#7
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 317
Send a message via ICQ to cramzy Send a message via Skype™ to cramzy
How do I set up the correct include path for the FB headers??? In all tutorials it just says to set it up...but whatever path I type, it never works...

Looking at the FB example proj doesn't make any sense as well

HELP?!?