★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Can i Run iPhone SDK 3.0 in Windows?

07-22-2009, 02:12 AM
#1
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 251
Can i Run iPhone SDK 3.0 in Windows?

I wanted to know if i can run iPhone SDK 3.0 in windows because i only got Windows Vista Ultimate 32-Bit With 2GB of RAM and intel Celeron D Processor that runs 3.06GHz. And is there a way to get Leopard OSX for windows?

Last edited by jovy23; 07-22-2009 at 02:14 AM.
07-22-2009, 02:41 AM
#2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jovy23 View Post
I wanted to know if i can run iPhone SDK 3.0 in windows because i only got Windows Vista
no

Quote:
Originally Posted by jovy23 View Post
And is there a way to get Leopard OSX for windows?
hackintosh AKA mac os x86. you can try but dont expect much. didnt work for me even though my hardware was much much closer to one available in macs compared to yours

07-22-2009, 02:42 AM
#3
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 731
Short answer to your first question: NO, macs only.
Second question: I guess you mean run OSX on a generic-PC? (Not run OSX in windows?) There are ways, but they are as far as I know, fairly cumbersome and in a gray-area legal-wise.
07-22-2009, 03:13 AM
#4
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Munich
Posts: 384
Send a message via Skype™ to rdklein
get a small mac (must be intel based ) , this is the better way, I use vnc then to bring the window on my PC environment and get more mobil.
There have been some reports about sucessul using vmware and original mac cds, but I would not recommend this for a real development.

RadioactivityCounter on App Store developer of this App RadioactivityCounter 2012
Ports of Call on App Store developer of this game 1986-2009,
07-22-2009, 08:11 AM
#5
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 658
http://cgi.ebay.com/Mac-Mini-2-0GHz-...#ht_500wt_1182

$500(mac mini)+99(SDK)+developing costs= alot of money, but if you think you can win big in the app store, go for it!

Playing: Hi How Are You, iBlast Moki, Rolando, ScareCrow, and all of my Plus+ games.
ngmoco:] Plus+ ID: Danlipson
Challenge Me!
PM me for free video editing of... anything
07-22-2009, 08:20 AM
#6
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 4,041
Here's a solution that I'm in the middle of testing out right now: http://forums.toucharcade.com/showth...hlight=windows. I will warn you, however, that this is not for the feint of heart. I went through three different downloads (at over 4GB apiece) of the Universal Install Disc before I found one that worked. The process of getting Mac OSX up and running in VMWare took me roughly 4 days (working mostly at night, mind you) and I haven't even gotten to the point of attempting development yet. I would only recommend this route if (a) you really can't afford a Mac, and (b) you have a LOT of patience. I plan on messing around with this just long enough to see if I'm really interested in iPhone development, and then if it seems like it's something I want to do I'm going to find some way to get a Mac (poor credit card )

Eric Pankoke
Mobile Games Reviewer: Rusty Sabre, TouchMyApps
Blog: iPhone Life
Twitter: RustySabre
07-22-2009, 08:24 PM
#7
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 251
Yeah i was thinking about getting a MAC Mini but are they good?

Gamecenter Username = Jovyflow23
Plus+ = Jovy23 OpenFeint = Jovy3 Gameloft = Jovy03
Now Playing: Real racing 2, aralon, NOVA 2, and etc.
07-22-2009, 09:32 PM
#8
I find this a huge mistake on Apple's part. A huge majority of computers have XP or a Windows operating system, which means that they could probably more than double the amount of developers that they currently have just by making it for Windows.

Galaxy Note 5, iPad Air 1
07-22-2009, 09:33 PM
#9
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 4,041
Every time I've seen this topic brought up the suggestion is always to get a Mac Mini, so they must be good enough for iPhone development. Just to give you an update, my virtual machine installation of OSX on top of Vista is now basically junk, so I'm going to have to start all over again. Personally, if there's any way you can afford the Mac, do it. Anything else is not worth the hassle.

Eric Pankoke
Mobile Games Reviewer: Rusty Sabre, TouchMyApps
Blog: iPhone Life
Twitter: RustySabre
07-22-2009, 09:59 PM
#10
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yagami_Light View Post
I find this a huge mistake on Apple's part. A huge majority of computers have XP or a Windows operating system, which means that they could probably more than double the amount of developers that they currently have just by making it for Windows.
Apple already has too many apps to properly handle and keep up with. Plus if it sells them computers, software, and then 30% of every app purchase it sounds pretty smart to me.

I just wanted to note that in the thread title words that start with "i" are not capitalized. What has Apple done to us? lol