Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > General Game Discussion and Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2014, 01:01 PM
VaroFN VaroFN is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 8.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,081
Default MacBook Pro Retina performance with Windows?

Well, since this is a forum about gaming and Macs are also "supported" by the site, I guess this is the correct place to ask this.

So, I have a MacBook Pro Retina late 2013 with two partitions, one with Windows where I have my Steam games and another one with Mac for the work. All I want to ask is how is the performance for other people that also has a Windows partition in the MacBook. Most games have some framerate drops even in low video options, they make the MacBook hot and they make the insufficient memory error appear after some time of playing, even with games like Darksiders and most recently with Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition, which wasn't happening some time ago. I don't have almost any program in Windows, so I don't think that's a problem.

Anyone experiencing the same issues? Is there a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2014, 03:10 PM
Fireball926 Fireball926 is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPhone 6, iOS 8.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 2,490
Default

I'm assuming you have the 15-inch Retina with the dedicated card? Some specs would be helpful if you could provide them. If you're playing any games at the Retina's native res expect to be using minimum settings, I would suggest turning the resolution down, will likely put less stress on the GPU and allow your machine to run less hot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2014, 06:36 PM
VaroFN VaroFN is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 8.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireball926 View Post
I'm assuming you have the 15-inch Retina with the dedicated card? Some specs would be helpful if you could provide them. If you're playing any games at the Retina's native res expect to be using minimum settings, I would suggest turning the resolution down, will likely put less stress on the GPU and allow your machine to run less hot.
Intel i7 4 cores at 2 GHz, 8GB of memory at 1600 MHz, Intel's Iris Pro Graphics.

What do you meant with the retina's native res? I play most of them at 1280x800 instead of the default resolution, that most of the time is higher, since I get better performance with that one, but I still get the memory error message quite a lot.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent