Support our Sponsors:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2014, 09:08 PM
aikavari aikavari is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 297
Default Scary AppStore bug

So I logged into my AppStore account just now. I'm trying to download Meltdown which I know I purchased before but instead of the cloud and downward arrow we all know and love, I'm greeted by a button with the numbers 2.99 on it. Now I went to the Top Apps page where I know I have quite a few purchased games lingering and sure enough, all of them have their costs on the button.

Now I'm sure I'm in the right store. I logged in twice and rebooted to make sure of that...

Have you guys experienced this before? We're you able to resolve it?

EDIT: so I tried downloading a game I know I downloaded recently and *gasp* it requested for my password... I'm tempted to try "buy"-ing a game I knew I purchased recently just to see what will happen...

Last edited by aikavari; 02-02-2014 at 09:30 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2014, 09:36 PM
MinusZero MinusZero is offline
Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aikavari View Post
So I logged into my AppStore account just now. I'm trying to download Meltdown which I know I purchased before but instead of the cloud and downward arrow we all know and love, I'm greeted by a button with the numbers 2.99 on it. Now I went to the Top Apps page where I know I have quite a few purchased games lingering and sure enough, all of them have their costs on the button.

Now I'm sure I'm in the right store. I logged in twice and rebooted to make sure of that...

Have you guys experienced this before? We're you able to resolve it?

EDIT: so I tried downloading a game I know I downloaded recently and *gasp* it requested for my password... I'm tempted to try "buy"-ing a game I knew I purchased recently just to see what will happen...
It's happened to me before. I went to "buy" again and got a notice saying I had already bought it. Re-downloaded without paying again.
If it bills you again just find the old email with the purchase receipt, request a refund.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2014, 10:19 PM
aikavari aikavari is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 297
Default

That's good advise. I'll give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2014, 12:26 AM
Connector Connector is offline
Banned
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 15,759
Default

Sometimes it takes about 15 min for the appstore purchased info to download. Wait a bit, it should come out if it is scary.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2014, 02:26 AM
psj3809 psj3809 is offline
Moderator
iPhone 4S, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England
Posts: 9,112
Default

Wouldnt say its scary, if you click buy i bet it'll say 'you've already purchased this item, download for free ?'. If somehow it didnt then just contact Apple who could easily see if you have just bought it again as they'll refund you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2014, 02:27 AM
aikavari aikavari is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 297
Default

Considering how many games I've purchased since 2009, the thought of my purchase list disappearing is definitely scary...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2014, 02:29 AM
Connector Connector is offline
Banned
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 15,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aikavari View Post
Considering how many games I've purchased since 2009, the thought of my purchase list disappearing is definitely scary...
Yeah, if it did disappear, it would be scary.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2014, 06:02 AM
Gov Gov is offline
Banned
iPhone 5s, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,264
Default

It happens, you just gotta reboot your device to fix the bug.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2014, 06:29 AM
iPadisGreat iPadisGreat is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 5c, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gov View Post
It happens, you just gotta reboot your device to fix the bug.
When rebooting is the answer, won't we all be better off running Windows Phone? Wasn't iOS based on OSX which was based on Unix, which is a system that does not go down?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2014, 06:33 AM
aikavari aikavari is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 297
Default

Nope, tried that as well among many things...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent