Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > General Game Discussion and Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:39 PM
GaZ-OiD GaZ-OiD is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 359
Default 64 bit gaming, where are you? (Member List)

Any iPad Air/ iPhone owners, like me a bit disappointed with the lack of 64 bit support in games? Or better still games made solely for 64 bit architecture?

Yes there is a small amount of games/apps in store that take advantage but it's just a tiny percentage.

I know they will come but hopefully we don't have to wait for 32 bit devices to end up in museums.

How about listing 64 bit enhanced/new apps here?

Thanks

GaZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2014, 04:57 PM
Fangbone Fangbone is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 579
Default

Epoch 2
IB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2014, 05:41 PM
GaZ-OiD GaZ-OiD is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fangbone View Post
Epoch 2
IB3
Nice start

GaZ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2014, 09:37 PM
JCho133 JCho133 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,250
Default

Republiqué
Battle Supremacy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2014, 11:08 PM
sticktron sticktron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,069
Default

All apps are compiled with an arm64 slice now. You are already getting the benefits of the new architecture automatically.

I know you probably mean games that do something they couldn't otherwise without an arm64 processor, I just wanted to throw that out there.

Last edited by sticktron; 03-19-2014 at 11:11 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2014, 12:15 AM
Gov Gov is offline
Banned
iPhone 5s, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,264
Default

But you can't see the full features if 64-bit with only 1gb of ram.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2014, 06:37 AM
GaZ-OiD GaZ-OiD is offline
Senior Member
iPad (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 359
Default

Sticktron and Gav

Both very good points!!

I was very disappointed the Air still only had 1gb of ram, it really should have been upped with 64 bit architecture

GaZ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2014, 06:46 AM
coolpepper43 coolpepper43 is offline
Senior Member
iPad mini 2, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,260
Default

This entire thing seems like a marketing gimmick. Joe shmo won't know that.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2014, 07:24 AM
sticktron sticktron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gov View Post
But you can't see the full features if 64-bit with only 1gb of ram.
This isn't true.
Yes you can access more than 4GB of RAM with 64-bit addressing, but that is only one aspect of the new arm64 processors, and not even an important one given the fact that you don't need that much RAM on a mobile device (anytime soon).

There are more important differences that strongly affect performance. Check out some articles about the real importance of the arm64 upgrades for more details.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent