★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

How is Civ Rev Lite a bigger file than the Civ Rev paid version?!

08-21-2009, 10:01 AM
#1
Joined: May 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,029
How is Civ Rev Lite a bigger file than the Civ Rev paid version?!

The title says all. Just leave a reply one why you think so.
08-21-2009, 10:05 AM
#2
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: The Land of The Rising Sun
Posts: 146
Maybe the light version has all of the graphics and sound as the original, but they just block your access to that data with extra code. Or they have a bunch of extra advertising to the buy the full version...

Developer of Petri. Available now on the iTunes Store.

These days I work with Tonchidot on Sekai Camera.
08-21-2009, 10:08 AM
#3
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 5,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by gillygize View Post
Maybe the light version has all of the graphics and sound as the original, but they just block your access to that data with extra code. Or they have a bunch of extra advertising to the buy the full version...
Agreed. Most of the code is going to involve the SIGNIFICANT AI needed to run the game. Even in lite mode you need the AI. There also are screens advertising the full that obviously aren't on the full.

Tug Boat Minister of Propaganda
Proud member of T.A.A.P. - Touch Arcaders Against Piracy. Over 500 members and counting. Join now!
08-21-2009, 10:37 PM
#4
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by gillygize View Post
Maybe the light version has all of the graphics and sound as the original, but they just block your access to that data with extra code.
This is exactly what they do. They comment it out. Lite versions have the exact same size as full versions.