Skyrim on iOS

Discussion in 'General Game Discussion and Questions' started by cdbaksu, Jul 28, 2014.

1. cdbaksu

cdbaksu Well-Known Member

Jul 25, 2013
    I've been wondering this for quite a while now. I'm not a programmer so I don't know the implications so if anyone has more knowledge than me on this front, I'd love to start a discussion. I'm not talking about a port here, per sé, but more abot a redesign of the game specifically for touch, supporting both the iPad and the iPhone.

Obviously the graphics wouldn't be so high quality even as the vanilla console versions, never mind all the graphical mods available on PC. But even with this, a lower poly count on the characters would suffice - think Monster Hunter. Speaking of Monster Hunter, the draw distance on that game was pretty spectacular, but you wouldn't even need that.

Now the controls could be a little iffy but I believe forcing, or maybe having the default option set to third person view would solve a lot of the aiming/camera panning and shooting. As far as the shouts, Bethesda could really employ some kind of gesture based/ drawing on the screen of the shout's characters.

The only thing I would be a little afraid of would be the app's size when all this is done and dusted. Obviously with the lower overall quality of the visuals, the file sizes would be smaller, but it would still eat a pretty hefty chunk of your iDevice's capacity.

Personally, I'd pay $60 for an iPhone remake of Skyrim. With iOS 8 and Metal coming out, the platform is really starting to shine and a lot of classic benchmark games, like Skyrim, could be adapted for it.

What are your thoughts?

2. kmacleod

kmacleod Well-Known Member
    Patreon Silver

Jul 1, 2009
    Artist / Writer / Designer
    California
    I think a port of Skyrim, Oblivion, or the new Fallout games would absolutely be possible, with visual tweaks and potential texture / viewing distance reductions.