★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Sdk 30.0 & g4

08-31-2009, 04:52 PM
#1
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 359
Sdk 30.0 & g4

Hi all,

I am developing for the iDevice on a shoestring budget, and have purchased a PPC Mac G4 Notebook that has 10.5+. I did this because I read the following article regarding how you can get the SDK to run on a PPC based Mac.

I have left a PM for the author, but in the interim I figured that I would talk to the Dev community here at TA for some guidance. While XCode opens, I get the following error when attempting to open the IB.

The Bundle "IBCocoaTouchPlugin" could not be loaded because it does not contain a version for the current architecture.

I installed all of the pkg files manually to ensure that everything was installed.

Any hints or clues as to why I might get this?

Thanks in advance,
Munkie!
___________________________________
Installing iPhone 3.0 SDK on G4 PowerPC

Tuesday, 18 August 2009 15:51

I still can't afford a $2k Mac Book Pro or an Intel-based Mac for a hardcore iPhone development so a little hack on the SDK's installation wouldn't hurt a G4 PowerBook to run the SDK.

Here’s how you can install the iPhone SDK for 3.0 on a Mac running on Leopard OSX 10.5.8:

1. Ensure you have at least 6GB of disk space available. If you have tried to install the iPhone SDK on the target volume before, it may state an upgrade will be performed instead of an install. Uninstalling Xcode would for somehow solve the issue:
view source
print?
1.sudo /Developer/Library/uninstall-devtools --mode=all
2. Download the SDK disk image.
3. Mount the image by double-clicking it.
4. Copy the mounted volume to a hard drive.
5. Navigate to iPhone SDK.mpkg/Contents/iPhoneSDK.dist in the copied folder and look for this line:

view source
print?
1.start_selected = "isIntel() && hasRightOS() && agreedToSLA()"

and replace it with:
view source
print?
1.start_selected = "true"
6. Run the installer, selecting either the default location /Developer or another directory name if you’re looking to preserve your current Xcode installation.
7. After a successful installation, navigate from the installation directory (default of /Developer) to /Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/Library/Xcode/Specifications/iPhone Simulator Architectures.xcspec, and make the following changes.

Replace the code with:

view source
print?
01.(
02. // 32-Bit
03. { Type = Architecture;
04. Identifier = Standard;
05. Name = "Standard (iPhone Simulator: i386)";
06. Description = "32-bit iPhone Simulator architectures";
07. ListInEnum = YES;
08. SortNumber = 1;
09. RealArchitectures = ( i386, ppc );
10. ArchitectureSetting = "ARCHS_STANDARD_32_BIT";
11. },
12.
13. // Old-style Debug
14. { Type = Architecture;
15. Identifier = Native;
16. Name = "Native Architecture of Build Machine";
17. Description = "32-bit for build machine";
18. ListInEnum = YES;
19. SortNumber = 101;
20. ArchitectureSetting = "NATIVE_ARCH";
21. },
22.
23. // G3
24. { Type = Architecture;
25. Identifier = ppc;
26. Name = "Minimal (32-bit PowerPC only)";
27. Description = "32-bit PowerPC ";
28. PerArchBuildSettingName = "PowerPC";
29. ByteOrder = big;
30. ListInEnum = No;
31. SortNumber = 201;
32. },
33.
34. // G4
35. { Type = Architecture;
36. Identifier = ppc7400;
37. Name = "PowerPC G4";
38. Description = "32-bit PowerPC for G4 processor";
39. ByteOrder = big;
40. ListInEnum = NO;
41. SortNumber = 202;
42. },
43.
44. // G5 32-bit
45. { Type = Architecture;
46. Identifier = ppc970;
47. Name = "PowerPC G5 32-bit";
48. Description = "32-bit PowerPC for G5 processor";
49. ByteOrder = big;
50. ListInEnum = NO;
51. SortNumber = 203;
52. },
53.
54. // Intel
55. { Type = Architecture;
56. Identifier = i386;
57. Name = "Intel";
58. Description = "32-bit Intel";
59. PerArchBuildSettingName = "Intel";
60. ByteOrder = little;
61. ListInEnum = NO;
62. SortNumber = 105;
63. }
64.)


That's it! Fire up Xcode and select the "File > New Project..." menu item and you should see an iPhone category for projects.
You may use the iPhone simulator when you build and run your project and it's neat to see it on your desktop specially when Apple tells iPhone SDKs won't run on G4 PowerPCs. Thanks to Apokalypse Software Corp

Looking for a cool sig.
08-31-2009, 06:06 PM
#2
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Well... maybe it would be a good idea to get a cheap used intel mac off ebay? should be a few mac mini's out there for under 500 that will work and you would have a standard development platform at that point. Just a thought.
08-31-2009, 06:43 PM
#3
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 359
I have thought of that, however I am now down $300 for the iBook and Leopard OSX, and I do like the mobility of the iBook.

If worse comes to worse I can try and eBay this iBook, but I would rather find a way to make it work if possible.

Munkie!
08-31-2009, 06:48 PM
#4
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Don't have an answer for you, but have you tried posting at iphonedevsdk.com? They have a pretty good community over there for devs.

Rōnin game developer.
08-31-2009, 08:23 PM
#5
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 359
No I have not, but I will check it out. Thanks for the info.

Munkie!