★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPad: Star Nomad, a sandbox tribute to classic spacesims!

08-27-2014, 07:45 AM
Star Nomad, a sandbox tribute to classic spacesims!

G'day iOS gamers, I'm a solo indie dev from Melbourne, Australia. I've just launched a spacesim Star Nomad (App Store) I've been working on during this year.

Star Nomad (Youtube Trailer) is a top-down RPG/RTS sandbox tribute to classic spacesims of old such as Wing Commander: Privateer 1 & 2, Escape Velocity and Freelancer.

In Star Nomad, you roam free in the Wildlands Sector, immersed in a sci-fi noir setting rich in depth and humor. Be a neural data transporter, mercenary for hire, merchant trader, contraband smuggler evading the law or even a pirate making your fame/infamy & fortune.

Star Nomad is a sandbox at heart, but it's also story driven with an epic storyline that offers choices. If you love games such as Space Rangers, Space Pirates & Zombies, Eve Online, Drox Operative, Transcendence, FTL, you will probably love Star Nomad.

Features a minimlist UI with simple flight controls, everything is accomplished with one-touch, even intense dogfights & fleet combat.

Last edited by AH_Phan; 08-27-2014 at 07:48 AM.
08-27-2014, 08:11 AM

Video

Youtube link | Pop Up

08-27-2014, 10:45 PM
This will be interesting. Will post imps later
08-27-2014, 10:56 PM
This has my interest! Wondering how the pay model works and if it's as good as it looks..

Edit: Hmm.. This looks less than legit. It's on Steam from a dev called halfgeekstudio. Would love some insight!

Last edited by ScotDamn; 08-27-2014 at 11:05 PM.
08-27-2014, 11:15 PM
@scotdamn

http://indiegamemag.com/star-nomad-m...inal-frontier/

Quote:
Star Nomad is currently available for Android devices, Windows, Mac, and will be coming to iOS devices at a later date. The PC version can be found over at Indie Game Stand for only $2.95, and the Android version can be downloaded from the Google Play Store at no cost.