is ios development dead?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by justking14, Jan 26, 2015.

1. justking14

justking14 Member

Sep 8, 2014
    #1 justking14, Jan 26, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2015
    I've been making ios apps for about 2 years now, but none of my apps, even ones I've put months into have ever sold more than 5 purchases except for my first app. My last two apps, which I spent an entire semester on didn't sell a single copy. Is it still possible to succeed or should I move to another market?
    Last two apps:
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/little-blue-and-the-wolf-too/id954147731?ls=1&mt=8
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stop-midget-lumberjack!!!/id957264038?ls=1&mt=8

First app:
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tales-legendary-elda/id788772808?ls=1&mt=8

2. Stingman

Stingman Well-Known Member
    Patreon Bronze

Aug 14, 2012
    App / Game Developer
    The Bay Area
    No iOS development is not dead. The competition is fierce though. You have to ask yourself : What am I doing different? What's my game got that others don't? What's my marketing edge? You need to treat this as a business... so share what it is you do to help generate buzz for your products and then maybe you will get feedback on how to improve. I would suggest making a free version of your best game and seeing if you can get some downloads.

3. Touchmint

Touchmint Well-Known Member

Oct 19, 2011
    Developer
    Phoenix
    #3 Touchmint, Jan 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015
    Dev is far from dead but unless your game sticks you theres very little chance of anyone ever seeing it.