★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: iTunes Won't Accept My iPod?!

12-20-2008, 11:54 AM
#1
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 76
iTunes Won't Accept My iPod?!

I just updated iTunes to the newest version, plugged in my iPod, and it says "This iPod cannot be used because the Apple Mobile Device service is not started." So i unplug my iPod, hard restart it, and plug it back in. Once again, "This iPod cannot be used because the Apple Mobile Device service is not started." I restart my computer, then open iTunes and plug it in yet again. "This iPod cannot be used because the Apple Mobile Device service is not started."
Can anyone help me??
12-20-2008, 12:07 PM
#2
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,143
I'm new here, but I believe this is a game discussion forum. There are plenty of places to find answers to your problem...try google.

12-20-2008, 12:21 PM
#3
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,351
Are you on a Vista/XP machine?
Then try this: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1567?viewlocale=en_US

(Maybe this topic can be moved to Lounge.)

Stefan
12-20-2008, 12:36 PM
#4
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 76
Thanks for the help spmwinkel, sorry for posting this here im just so used to discussing games.
12-20-2008, 12:39 PM
#5
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,252
Unplug your iPod and reboot. Then plug in. It should then work.

I'M ON A MAC MOTHAF*@%!

Cloudcell, Plus+, Baseball Slugger, TTR: dannys95
12-20-2008, 01:27 PM
#6
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by powderski11 View Post
Thanks for the help spmwinkel, sorry for posting this here im just so used to discussing games.
So am I, I won't say that it never happens to me. ;-) This is just the place where you get the most views.

Did the article got your problem solved?

Stefan
12-20-2008, 01:43 PM
#7
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 655
Vista/XP:
It might be because the mobile device service is turned off as a startup program. To re-enable, go to the 'run' menu, go to the startup tab, find the apple mobile device service, and make sure the box next to it is ticked. Then click ok and restart the computer when it says.

Hope that helps,
Haephestos

Plus+: Icewraithe
Tester for: Legion of Amon, 7x SECRET, many more
12-20-2008, 01:53 PM
#8
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,176
your lucky, i cant update my apps i click on the button that says " check for updates" and i get a error message saying some thing like this "network session timed out" -.-

EDIT: it worhed this time finally
12-20-2008, 04:55 PM
#9
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by spmwinkel View Post

Did the article got your problem solved?
Nope, it turns out McAfee (security system) was blocking it in my firewall!
Wierd. But thanks a lot, you started me in the right direction
12-20-2008, 04:56 PM
#10
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,351
Cool, as long as you got it solved.

Stefan