★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

•iPhone Unity and me•

09-23-2009, 08:38 PM
#1
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: App Tech Studios, USA
Posts: 1,363
•iPhone Unity and me•

I have downloaded the Unity demo and I am experimenting with the engine. With help from a friend (Arkanigon here at TA), I have grown to like Unity 3D! I have a few questions though...


1. If I wanted to make a decent 3D game with Unity (for iPhone and iPod® Touch, and ability to test on my device along the way), what, where (I know on Unity3D.com, but I don't want to buy the wrong thing. Would Unity Indie ($199.99) and Unity iPhone Indie ($399.99) be good? What do you use?), and how much will it be?


2. Is it possible to import 3D models from AutoCad/Inventor into Unity?


3. With the correct Unity 3D software, is it easy to publish your games on iTunes? Does it give you the .app file that you can compress and submit as the binary?


4. Does Unity 3D for iPhone make it fairly simple to use control, say a ball rolling on a flat plane, left and right with the accelerometer (think Super Monkey Ball)?


Thank you very much!

Last edited by WellSpentYouth; 09-23-2009 at 08:52 PM.
09-23-2009, 09:06 PM
#2
Quote:
Originally Posted by WellSpentYouth View Post
Would Unity Indie ($199.99) and Unity iPhone Indie ($399.99) be good?
Sure.

Quote:
What do you use?), and how much will it be?
Unity Pro and Unity iPhone Advanced, which is $3000 total. However, that's just because I can. Actually, I had already been using Unity Pro for quite some time, before the iPhone was around, and they had a sale on Unity iPhone Advanced, which saved me a couple hundred $ or so. Aside from not having the Unity splash screen, I don't think Realmaze3D would be noticeably different with Unity iPhone Basic. You can always upgrade later if you want. (If you're fortunate enough to end up on the top 10 list and start making > $100,000/year, you will have to upgrade as mentioned in the licensing, but I doubt you'll mind....)

Quote:
2. Is it possible to import 3D models from AutoCad/Inventor into Unity?
As long as you can get the models in .obj or .fbx format, you can load them into Unity. Keep in mind that CAD models tend to be horrifically bad for real-time 3D, especially on something so limited like the iPhone. It's highly likely you'd be better off using 3D apps intended for game usage, with models made specifically for the iPhone.

Quote:
3. With the correct Unity 3D software, is it easy to publish your games on iTunes? Does it give you the .app file that you can compress and submit as the binary?
Yes; Unity creates a project that is compiled in Xcode, so what you end up with is no different from any other app.

Quote:
4. Does Unity 3D for iPhone make it fairly simple to use control, say a ball rolling on a flat plane, left and right with the accelerometer (think Super Monkey Ball)?
Yes, that would be pretty trivial because of the built-in physics engine.

--Eric

Realmaze3D on the App Store
Realmaze3Free: 3 free mazes (a taste of Realmaze3D)

Last edited by Eric5h5; 09-23-2009 at 09:13 PM.

09-23-2009, 10:29 PM
#3
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: App Tech Studios, USA
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric5h5 View Post
Sure.



Unity Pro and Unity iPhone Advanced, which is $3000 total. However, that's just because I can. Actually, I had already been using Unity Pro for quite some time, before the iPhone was around, and they had a sale on Unity iPhone Advanced, which saved me a couple hundred $ or so. Aside from not having the Unity splash screen, I don't think Realmaze3D would be noticeably different with Unity iPhone Basic. You can always upgrade later if you want. (If you're fortunate enough to end up on the top 10 list and start making > $100,000/year, you will have to upgrade as mentioned in the licensing, but I doubt you'll mind....)



As long as you can get the models in .obj or .fbx format, you can load them into Unity. Keep in mind that CAD models tend to be horrifically bad for real-time 3D, especially on something so limited like the iPhone. It's highly likely you'd be better off using 3D apps intended for game usage, with models made specifically for the iPhone.



Yes; Unity creates a project that is compiled in Xcode, so what you end up with is no different from any other app.



Yes, that would be pretty trivial because of the built-in physics engine.

--Eric
I would like to have my own splash screen, but not $2,400.00 like

Ok, the reason I want to use Cad models is because my dad is a good Cad modeller and he would love to help with my games. I can stick with circles, squares, and other basic shapes though. RealMaze 3D is a wonderful game and it doesn't really have any shapes besides flat walls (the ladders are an exception).


Great! That helps because I know Xcode pretty well. If they had an iPhone Unity demo I would have known that

I don't see what physics has to do with the motion sensor, but I love the physics engine! It has really been FAB-U-LOUS!!!

Thank you so much Eric!
09-24-2009, 01:04 AM
#4
Quote:
Originally Posted by WellSpentYouth View Post
I would like to have my own splash screen, but not $2,400.00 like
You can still have your own; it's just that the Unity one has to be first.

Quote:
Ok, the reason I want to use Cad models is because my dad is a good Cad modeller and he would love to help with my games. I can stick with circles, squares, and other basic shapes though.
It's not the shapes that are the problem, it's the number of polygons. A circle could end up being made of thousands of polygons, whereas ideally you'd want it to be maybe a dozen or so. CAD models typically end up with zillions of polygons to get nicely smooth shapes, which looks good as images but which would perform badly on the iPhone.

Quote:
RealMaze 3D is a wonderful game and it doesn't really have any shapes besides flat walls (the ladders are an exception).
And the bits and bobs on the walls. Each wall section is 2 polygons. The lighting would have been better with 4 polygons, but mostly it's not really noticeable the way it is, and the fewer polygons the better. Each level of the maze (wall/floor/ceiling) is a single fairly complex object, constructed on the fly, generally a few hundred polygons depending on the size.

Quote:
Great! That helps because I know Xcode pretty well. If they had an iPhone Unity demo I would have known that
They do have a demo of Unity iPhone...as the web site says, write to them and request one. The reason it's not freely downloadable like Unity is because you need to be a registered iPhone developer first.

Quote:
I don't see what physics has to do with the motion sensor
The physics isn't about the motion sensor, it's about rolling the ball. Have a few lines of code to tilt a surface based on the accelerometer, and the physics engine would take care of rolling the ball around.

--Eric

Realmaze3D on the App Store
Realmaze3Free: 3 free mazes (a taste of Realmaze3D)

Last edited by Eric5h5; 09-24-2009 at 01:07 AM.
09-24-2009, 01:27 AM
#5
o, gonna post my question here, hope the thread's author doesn't mind

what's the deal with the SVN and Unity incompatibility ? I've read on wiki that the way the Unity stores its files (in a binary format) is tough on SVN. for example - branches don't work properly. is this a real problem worth spending nearly 3000$ on ? or you can easily work without it ?
09-24-2009, 02:08 AM
#6
There's a Unity asset server as a separate product. I don't use that; I work alone and none of my projects have been complex enough to need anything along those lines. In any case, I believe there's been mention of having increased compatibility with other source control packages in the future.

--Eric

Realmaze3D on the App Store
Realmaze3Free: 3 free mazes (a taste of Realmaze3D)
09-24-2009, 02:25 AM
#7
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: App Tech Studios, USA
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSz_spokko View Post
o, gonna post my question here, hope the thread's author doesn't mind
My pleasure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric5h5 View Post
You can still have your own; it's just that the Unity one has to be first.
Sweet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric5h5 View Post
It's not the shapes that are the problem, it's the number of polygons. A circle could end up being made of thousands of polygons, whereas ideally you'd want it to be maybe a dozen or so. CAD models typically end up with zillions of polygons to get nicely smooth shapes, which looks good as images but which would perform badly on the iPhone.
So the frame rate would be really low and other things of that nature?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric5h5 View Post
They do have a demo of Unity iPhone...as the web site says, write to them and request one. The reason it's not freely downloadable like Unity is because you need to be a registered iPhone developer first.
I sent them an email.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric5h5 View Post
The physics isn't about the motion sensor, it's about rolling the ball. Have a few lines of code to tilt a surface based on the accelerometer, and the physics engine would take care of rolling the ball around.

--Eric
Yes, I have already run into the physics engine, it gave me a BIG (is giving) helping hand
09-26-2009, 01:11 PM
#8
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: App Tech Studios, USA
Posts: 1,363
I just found out that you have to have Unity Pro and Unity iPhone Pro in order to have a reasonably sized game. Otherwise, you have to hand pick out the assets that you aren't using!!
09-26-2009, 04:57 PM
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by WellSpentYouth View Post
I just found out that you have to have Unity Pro and Unity iPhone Pro in order to have a reasonably sized game. Otherwise, you have to hand pick out the assets that you aren't using!!
could you please elaborate ? we will be building a project using Unity soon and would really love to know more about it
09-26-2009, 07:36 PM
#10
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: App Tech Studios, USA
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSz_spokko View Post
could you please elaborate ? we will be building a project using Unity soon and would really love to know more about it
Basically, in Unity Indie, all of the assets that come with Unity that aren't being used aren't taken off, thus, the size of a blank project is 20mb.

In Unity Pro, it deletes all of the assets that aren't being used, then the size of a blank project would be closer to 0mb like it should be. You can manually delete the Standard Assets (or assets), but that would take awhile plus you might delete the wrong thing...

I hope this helps explain it better!