★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

The best way for indie developers?

09-24-2009, 12:30 PM
The best way for indie developers?

Hey guys, here I am an indie game developer. My game Fight Desert was released on appstore few days ago. I created a post here.

Well, I just have got only 50+ downloads in the passed week, in fact, much lower than I expected.

I was so confused about going further. As far as I know, there are two options:
1. Go on to publish more small games, free with AD or 0.99 tier.
2. Spent more time & money to make a better game. I insisted that we should set the price on $1.99 or higher.

It's said that: we make games for love, not for money. I definetely agree with that. However, we wanna make things bigger. You konw, a better game needs more developer, artist, and even more cost to promote.

Any good advise for me, and for those indie gamers lile me?

Quote:
--- Game: Chinese Zombies 3D ARPG! Click To iTunes Store
--- Game: Robot Bros. 3D Action+Puzzle Game! Click To iTunes Store
---------- 108km Game Studio ----------
09-24-2009, 12:40 PM
50 in a week isnt that bad comparatively, unless your counting your promo codes.

being as your games enviromentalish.
how about approaching green energy companies for a promotional app.
or the government, get them to pay for the dev, then you wont need to worry about units sold in such a competative market.
09-24-2009, 01:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by waigo21 View Post
Hey guys, here I am an indie game developer. My game Fight Desert was released on appstore few days ago. I created a post here.

Well, I just have got only 50+ downloads in the passed week, in fact, much lower than I expected.

I was so confused about going further. As far as I know, there are two options:
1. Go on to publish more small games, free with AD or 0.99 tier.
2. Spent more time & money to make a better game. I insisted that we should set the price on $1.99 or higher.