★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Feedback on my game icon

09-01-2015, 05:51 AM
Feedback on my game icon

Hello toucharcade community :-)

I'm an amateur in game developing market. Actually I'm trying to make an icon for my top-view submarine game. This is what I have, I would really like to get feedback from experienced mobile game fans and developers :-)

09-01-2015, 07:49 AM
I think it's nicely detailed and shaded, but it doesn't quite 'pop' enough. Possibly needs more contrast, it might be that the background detail is a little muddy and gets lost. A couple of other things of note, it might just be me but I have no idea what the object is. When I think submarines, I think views from a periscope, torpedos and sonar. I would also work on the border bevel, making those curves around the inner corners cleaner.

Hope that helps, I don't mean to be too critical!

Tom Bowen, Thinkerton Games
www.thinkertongames.com
Games:
Cubix Challenge

09-01-2015, 09:49 AM
Thanks for your advices It's a top view similar to flight control models I'll try to change the contrast.
09-01-2015, 01:07 PM
it doesn't tell me what your game is about ....the target obscures the submarine to the point you don't know its a submarine !

Follow me on Twitter
Games/Ports I have on Appstore
GeoTris $0.99, iPlutoid Free, Neverputt ME $0.99, Noiz2sa Free Free, Neverputt HD $0.99
Coming this year MiZoo 2, 2 untitled games in work
09-01-2015, 01:21 PM
Thanks lazr, I'll try to change the icon and then post it here :-)
09-05-2015, 02:01 PM
I agree about the not being able to tell it is a submarine, the hatch pops out well but doesn't say a whole lot of the game and the submarine just disappears into the water.
09-06-2015, 03:24 PM
I'd definitely say make the submarine more visible and perhaps more contrast in the border, at a glance it's really hard to tell what the game is about. the blue is beautiful however!
09-06-2015, 06:57 PM