★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: Touchgrind Bug?

12-21-2008, 03:47 PM
#1
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Touchgrind Bug?

I found an interesting bug in Touchgrind (or maybe it was on purpose... idk). You guys may have already found this, but I couldn't find anything when I searched so I thought I'd share.

On the main menu, scroll over to the "About" option. Wait for the wheel to come to a stop, then tap the "o" at the end of "Options" on the left.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0005.png
Views:	15
Size:	228.7 KB
ID:	316
The board selection screen should come up, and choose any board. Then you'll get the loading screen like you normally would if you went skating. But when the game comes up, you have a plain white board, with no colors or textures! And there's no score or time either. It's pretty weird. Here's some pictures of what it looks like:

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001.png
Views:	13
Size:	270.5 KB
ID:	317
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.png
Views:	10
Size:	282.1 KB
ID:	318
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0004.png
Views:	7
Size:	273.6 KB
ID:	319
12-21-2008, 04:03 PM
#2
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Cali-forn-i-a
Posts: 2,302
Sweet find! Really works.

dirty deeds and their dunderchee

12-21-2008, 04:04 PM
#3
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Wouldn't you like to know ;)
Posts: 2,632
Send a message via ICQ to brewstermax Send a message via AIM to brewstermax Send a message via MSN to brewstermax Send a message via Yahoo to brewstermax
I don't see this being unintentional. This has obviously been programmed into it. It must be some kind of free play or something. There's no way that this could be a bug or an accident.
12-21-2008, 04:07 PM
#4
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Posts: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewstermax View Post
I don't see this being unintentional. This has obviously been programmed into it. It must be some kind of free play or something. There's no way that this could be a bug or an accident.
Agreed, itd be a miracle if this bug was "accidently" programed, still sweet find!

"Insert generic signature here"
12-21-2008, 04:10 PM
#5
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Wouldn't you like to know ;)
Posts: 2,632
Send a message via ICQ to brewstermax Send a message via AIM to brewstermax Send a message via MSN to brewstermax Send a message via Yahoo to brewstermax
Quote:
Originally Posted by CloneWars View Post
Agreed, itd be a miracle if this bug was "accidently" programed, still sweet find!
Exactly. I'd like a dev to come and confirm my idea, but it seems logical.
12-21-2008, 04:17 PM
#6
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 451
Yeah, this most likely isn't a bug. They might use this to test the game out...

Cool find, though.

Check me out on Tumblr or Follow me on Twitter
12-21-2008, 05:30 PM
#7
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 227
In all likelihood it's used to test either the game mechanics or the physics without having to worry about loading textures or other complex functions.
12-21-2008, 05:36 PM
#8
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,393
did you come about this accidentally? Nice find never the less
12-21-2008, 05:49 PM
#9
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorero View Post
In all likelihood it's used to test either the game mechanics or the physics without having to worry about loading textures or other complex functions.
Yeah I was kinda thinking that's what it was for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennisking1o1 View Post
did you come about this accidentally? Nice find never the less
Haha yeah I actually did, as crazy as that sounds. I was on the "About" part of the menu and I guess I just happened to click in the right spot. Well and this wasn't the first time it had happened, so I knew that it wasn't just a freak accident so I tried it until I figured out where to press.

Oh and I just figured out that the same thing will work no matter which menu you're on, if you just click on the last few letters of the previous menu item and it'll also work.
12-21-2008, 05:51 PM
#10
Cool! Nice find! I'll call this the milk-board easter egg