★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Steelseries Stratus does not seem to work with iOS10

09-16-2016, 10:49 AM
#1
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 209
Steelseries Stratus does not seem to work with iOS10

Has anyone had any luck with a workaround for that or able to confirm for me?

I clearly have an app addiction.
appshopper.com/user/Nonstickron
09-16-2016, 11:13 AM
#2
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nonstickron View Post
Has anyone had any luck with a workaround for that or able to confirm for me?
Damn, I was going to bring my stratus with me today but didn't. I will check this as soon as I get home, in about 5 hours. Damn it, that would suck.

Edit: have you checked for controller firmware update?

09-16-2016, 11:44 AM
#3
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 487
Dont have mine with me today either. I don't see a firmware update. I'll have to check when I get home as well.
09-16-2016, 12:10 PM
#4
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 209
I submitted a ticket on their site this morning, they didn't even have ios10 in the required drop down for Operatingg System yet. Downloaded the Steelseries Engine 3 but it doesn't see the stratus when I plug it in.

I also pinged them on twitter. No response yet.

If it is an actual issue and not just me, I wonder if it extends to other controllers as well.
09-16-2016, 02:26 PM
#5
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 198
edit - go do this

https://www.reddit.com/r/iosgaming/c...sues_on_ios10/

Last edited by skoptic; 09-16-2016 at 02:41 PM.
09-16-2016, 02:57 PM
#6
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 703
I just tried my stratus and everything seems to be normal for me. I tried three different games.
09-16-2016, 04:10 PM
#7
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 209
Damn. Tried resetting network. No dice. Only thing I can think to do is a factory reset, which may or may not work and will suck
09-17-2016, 01:48 PM
#8
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
I have a SteelSeries Stratus which I use with an iPad pro 12.9”. It is also not working for me. it connects to the iPad, but no games recognize it. I contacted SteelSeries yesterday. Not only is iOS 10 not listed, but I cannot read all the characters of my serial number on the back of the device, so my tickets won’t be accepted! How many characters long are they supposed to be? Are they all numbers or letters too? Just curious.

I figure that like other companies, now that iOS 10 is released, SteelSeries will have to revise the firmware for the Stratus, but there is no point trying to update it until they do. I am glad to hear that I am not alone in this problem, though I miss my Stratus.
09-17-2016, 04:32 PM
#9
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 209
Mine is 6 characters, letters and numbers.

Yeah, I was looking forward to finally playing Minecraft Pocket now that they finally released a texture pack I can tolerate.
09-17-2016, 06:52 PM
#10
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 209
It's definitely something weird going on. I tried installing the Nimbus app, and while the Stratus doesn't connect to the app or anything it does seem to somehow make the phone actually talk to the controller. I am able to play games with it as long as I don't turn off the controller. Once I do it won't connect again despite it still being technically "connected" in the Bluetooth options.

It isn't foolproof either, I haven't gotten it to work every time, I haven't played with it enough to say what order to open the app and turn on the controller. But at least it proves the controller isn't just outright broken.