★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Whats the etiquette for posting my game to the 'iPhone and iPad Games'

04-04-2017, 04:01 AM
#1
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Whats the etiquette for posting my game to the 'iPhone and iPad Games'

Hi, I'm new here, whats the etiquette for posting my game to the 'iPhone and iPad Games' forum? Are developers allowed to post their own games? Or is it better to wait for someone else to post?
04-04-2017, 04:07 AM
#2
You're welcome to post your own thread if your game is released on the Appstore. The advantage of doing this is that you can edit your opening post later if required.

If your game's not released yet, create a thread in the upcoming games thread until it comes out.

To see how to post Youtube videos and appstore information automatically, look at another thread that does this and hit the QUOTE button as if replying. This will show you how to do the AppInfo and HDYoutube tags.

řƹȡ1
04-05-2017, 08:55 AM
#3
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks.

And if I want to offer promo codes I need to make a different thread in the 'Freebies and Deals' forum, right?
04-05-2017, 09:00 AM
#4
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Europe, CET
Posts: 2,954
Hi codeulike, and welcome to TA.
Yes, if you want to offer promo codes for players, create a new thread in the "Promo Codes and Contests" subforum, here: http://forums.toucharcade.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22 . I'd post a link to it in your game's main thread as well.
04-11-2017, 10:06 AM
#5
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks for your help, one more question for the Mods or anyone else who knows:

When I posted my game originally I used the 'appinfo=all' tag and that worked OK.

I've now tried to change it to the simpler 'appinfo' tag without the =all (because I think the screenshots look better and its less wordy) but the post isn't updating. Is it cached somewhere or something? Perhaps there's nothing you can do in which case dont worry.

Thread:
http://forums.toucharcade.com/showthread.php?t=303679
04-11-2017, 10:46 AM
#6
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Europe, CET
Posts: 2,954
@codeulike: I think it's ok on the TA side. I see this in your post:
QUOTE=codeulike;3997519][appinfo]https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/numplussed-connect-numbers-in-a-math-puzzle-maze/id1193295317?mt=8[/appinfo

No appinfo=all I can find.

My first guess is that either it took a bit to update, or that your browser has the page cached. Try a hard reload (usually CTRL-F5) if that updates it for you too.