★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

does anyone know if there is an app that will reboot the touch?

11-11-2009, 10:25 PM
#1
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,482
does anyone know if there is an app that will reboot the touch?

The power/standby button at the top of my touch no longer works...and i cant reboot my ipod if its running badly unless there is an update for the touch...is there an app out there that will reboot the touch? does anyone know....

thanks
11-11-2009, 10:51 PM
#2
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Where the Grass is Green and the Girls are Pretty
Posts: 2,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delusionaltool View Post
The power/standby button at the top of my touch no longer works...and i cant reboot my ipod if its running badly unless there is an update for the touch...is there an app out there that will reboot the touch? does anyone know....

thanks
You can jailbreak for something like that or you could just let it run out of juice

Gamecenter: Will090

11-11-2009, 10:59 PM
#3
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: the next whiskey bar
Posts: 5,549
you can jailbreak and install sbsettings, then you can turn off, lock, reboot, etc without having to press the buttons.
but if the whole thing crashes then there'll be no way to bring up those options
11-11-2009, 11:09 PM
#4
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,568
Yadidi?

11-11-2009, 11:12 PM
#5
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
If you jailbrake or are already jailbroken, you can download an app caled "PowerTool" (or something like that) which will allow you to Respring and Reboot without holding the button.
11-11-2009, 11:19 PM
#6
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Here No More
Posts: 792
Hi,

Been a while since I did the jail break of my Touch but one question.

How do you jai break if the power button does not work?

When I did mine, I needed to hold it and the home button also.

Just curious.

David
11-11-2009, 11:24 PM
#7
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harpgliss View Post
Hi,

Been a while since I did the jail break of my Touch but one question.

How do you jai break if the power button does not work?

When I did mine, I needed to hold it and the home button also.

Just curious.

David
Psssshhh that's old news

Jailbreaking doesn't require anything now other than being plugged in. And then you hit one button and the device resets, and your jailbroken

It's super simple nowadays.
11-11-2009, 11:33 PM
#8
Yeah, jailbreaking takes about 30 seconds. It is so fast that you look at your device wondering if it actually did anything.

A ragdoll physics platformer:Flickitty
The artist: randall schleufer
Twitter: @FlickittyiPhone
11-11-2009, 11:54 PM
#9
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flickitty View Post
Yeah, jailbreaking takes about 30 seconds. It is so fast that you look at your device wondering if it actually did anything.
it wasnt always like that
11-11-2009, 11:59 PM
#10
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Here No More
Posts: 792
Hi,

Thanks for the information.

I am still back on v3.0 and it was more involved.

Maybe I will have to upgrade.

David