★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: Promo Codes for Petri

01-05-2009, 08:28 AM
Promo Codes for Petri

Hey, I posted this over at this thread, but it hasn't been getting any attention, so I thought I would give it a new thread with a more descriptive title.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gillygize View Post
I will give out 15 more codes for Petri. Now, when I'm not developing for the iPhone, I am a graduate student in the social sciences. So, I think the codes will go to those who can best tell me:

"What is your philosophy of games?"

Answers don't have to be long. A paragraph is fine. I want this to fun, not homework.

I will intentionally leave the question vague, because I don't really know what kind of answer I'm looking for. I'll judge my favorite answers when I can get back to a computer, probably sometime tomorrow, and give them a code.

Points for creativity / profoundness / insight / use of the phrase "transcendental experience" .
I'll be checking both threads, so those people who answered in the previous thread won't get left out.

Developer of Petri. Available now on the iTunes Store.

These days I work with Tonchidot on Sekai Camera.
01-05-2009, 08:32 AM
What is your philosophy of games?

superficially for entertainment, and distraction from the real world
optimistically for insight, honing the brains of the skills in quick thinking, logic,
and strategy

sometimes the best ways to learn about a complex real world concept is to turn it into a game, and tackle it piece by piece, plus you get to save and load when you die, a 2nd and 57th chance

01-05-2009, 08:40 AM
Games are my life! I have about 20 iPhone games and many other games for both Wii and PS2. The games that I enjoy the most for iPhone and iPod Touch would include RTS, racing, and Tower Defense. I am also interested in most action games that you can buy for PS2. For Wii, I usually play games like Rockband and Guitar Hero.