★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: Using the "Home" button as an actual button in a game

01-07-2009, 01:39 PM
Using the "Home" button as an actual button in a game

My understanding is that the home button responds to two things:

A single press and a double press

I wonder if these can be used in game...perhaps, instead of click home to quit a game they could have an option in the menu that quits the game. Navigating a menu is a small price to pay for having the use of the home button as an actual button in a game.

I'm not a developer, so I really have no clue how much control you might have over that stuff. I assume that Apple probably doesn't allow you too utilize it in that way but I figured it was worth asking and probably worth apple considering if they want to look at the iPhone and Touch as a gaming machine.
01-07-2009, 01:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sense Field View Post
My understanding is that the home button responds to two things:

A single press and a double press

I wonder if these can be used in game...perhaps, instead of click home to quit a game they could have an option in the menu that quits the game. Navigating a menu is a small price to pay for having the use of the home button as an actual button in a game.

I'm not a developer, so I really have no clue how much control you might have over that stuff. I assume that Apple probably doesn't allow you too utilize it in that way but I figured it was worth asking and probably worth apple considering if they want to look at the iPhone and Touch as a gaming machine.
I doubt the SDK would allow developers to have this option, and I don't really think apple will do this. Not a bad idea though

"Those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind"- The master himself, Dr. Seuss

01-07-2009, 01:49 PM