★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

My App was pirated - what should i do?

12-02-2009, 08:55 PM
My App was pirated - what should i do?

One week after it hit the App Store, i found links to illegal copies of my first iPhone App.

I have no experience with this kind of thing.
I know i can't prevent it anymore (now that it's circulating), but maybe someone knows how to make it more difficult for them next time? I have another project in the works that I've invested over 10 months hard work, and I rather not have this happen again, if there is a way to prevent it.

I did ask the host to remove the links from his site, but it's probably on 10 other sites by now. Ideas?

I'm a bit amazed they'd bother to pirate a $.99 cent app, but I guess that's the world we live in

Game: Captain Temporium Game: Newton's Dice HD App: WOTA: U-Boat Compass

Upcoming Subsim: WOTA Wolves of the Atlantic (WWII U-Boat simulation iOS, Mac/PC/Linux)
Newest WOTA-Newsletter: STATE OF THE GAME
12-02-2009, 08:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by VIC20 View Post
One week after it hit the App Store, i found links to illegal copies of my first iPhone App.

I have no experience with this kind of thing.
I know i can't prevent it anymore (now that it's circulating), but maybe someone knows how to make it more difficult for them next time? I have another project in the works that I've invested over 10 months hard work, and I rather not have this happen again, if there is a way to prevent it.

I did ask the host to remove the links from his site, but it's probably on 10 other sites by now. Ideas?

I'm a bit amazed they'd bother to pirate a $.99 cent app, but I guess that's the world we live in
Unfortunately, that is the world we live in - a world filled with a-holes that would prefer to pirate an app than pay a dollar to support the dev. The only method to essentially stop pirates is to make a free app and have all the features as DLC for a dollar.