★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

WTF!!! Disk space usage

01-20-2010, 04:35 AM
#1
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 233
WTF!!! Disk space usage

Hi guys,

Today I finally caved in to buy Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars... but there is a problem.

Before i downloaded it, i deliberately checked how much dick space i had left. It said 1.2 gigs. When i downloaded gta, before it even finished installing, a message popped up saying u are running out of disk space, please delete some music apps etc. My ipod was reallllllly laggy. When i checked how mush space i had, it said 0 bytes I tried locking my ipod but it had frozen so i force restarted it. Before gta started downloading again, i check the disk s[ace and now it says 665 mb left.

Some thoughts would be useful,
Thanks, Ricinator

Plus+/Gameloft Live ID: Ricinator OpenFeint: Ricinat0r (add me!)
Currently Playing: Deathsmiles, Infinity Blade, Tiny Tower, SF4V, Hard Lines and many more
01-20-2010, 04:37 AM
#2
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Australia, mate!
Posts: 8,419
665mb should be enough to install GTA.

01-20-2010, 04:46 AM
#3
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 233
Yeh but it sort of wasted 600 mb of space! Somehow it went from 1.2 gigs to 0 bytes (and more if fully downloaded) just by downloading gta. I even deleted some apps during the download process

Plus+/Gameloft Live ID: Ricinator OpenFeint: Ricinat0r (add me!)
Currently Playing: Deathsmiles, Infinity Blade, Tiny Tower, SF4V, Hard Lines and many more
01-20-2010, 05:13 AM
#4
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: In your pants
Posts: 1,624
If you downloaded it on your iPod touch, it probably had to move/extract the game to the correct folder after downloading it so it should've took like 1.2GBs (At least I think this is what happened, forgive me if I'm wrong)

10chars
01-20-2010, 05:16 AM
#5
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 233
Why would that have needed 1.2gbs?

Plus+/Gameloft Live ID: Ricinator OpenFeint: Ricinat0r (add me!)
Currently Playing: Deathsmiles, Infinity Blade, Tiny Tower, SF4V, Hard Lines and many more
01-20-2010, 05:18 AM
#6
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: In your pants
Posts: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricinator View Post
Why would that have needed 1.2gbs?
Because I'm guessing that it had to move 600GBs from one folder to another so you needed at least 1.2GBs.

10chars
01-20-2010, 05:29 AM
#7
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 233
It's ok now :P I just downloaded gta on my computer and synced. I have 685 mb left now

Plus+/Gameloft Live ID: Ricinator OpenFeint: Ricinat0r (add me!)
Currently Playing: Deathsmiles, Infinity Blade, Tiny Tower, SF4V, Hard Lines and many more

Last edited by Ricinator; 01-20-2010 at 05:34 AM.
01-20-2010, 11:42 AM
#8
I had the same concern, and wow, I was really confused. R* should put some type of warning for this in their description.
01-20-2010, 11:59 AM
#9
Joined: May 2009
Location: at my computer?
Posts: 505
it does this for every game you install straight to your ipod... You need twice the amount of space it says to install it. The reason is it has to download it AND install it. So both of the parts are on your ipod at the same time. Hence twice the space.

Games I'm Playing: Doom Classic, Red Conquest!, Battle for Wesnoth, Land Air Sea Warfare (my favorite rts, buy it today!)
01-20-2010, 12:19 PM
#10
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 428
iPhone installation files (*.ipa's) are nothing more than zip archives. So the file size of .ipa is size of compressed archive! In order to see what is size of game on DISK (when installed) open *.ipa with an archive manager (WinRAR, 7-zip,...) and somewhere in file information see archive ratio or even size on disk.
For WinRAR it's Tools/Show information/Info tab/Total size.

Waiting for:
Minigore 2: Zombies, Real Racing 3, GTA: Vice City, Touchgrind 2, Badland, Audiosurf...

Last edited by VeganTnT; 01-20-2010 at 02:46 PM. Reason: ridiculous use of size tags