★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Generic Programming questions

01-24-2009, 02:00 AM
#1
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Generic Programming questions

Howdy.

I wanted to confirm some things about iPod/iPhone programming.

I see there are 3d engines now: Unity, Shiva and Torque.

Do I understand correctly that even if you have these (which the websites say can export iPhone compatible code) it still can ONLY be developed on a Macintosh, though the applications also run on Windows XP?

Is it correct that the ONLY way to write applications which can be submitted to the App store is to program them on a Mac?

Is a cheap Mac Mini sufficient to develop for the iPhone? From what I read it has to be only an Intel CPU Mac Mini. I've heard some say a Mac Mini is way too slow to develop on, yet others say they got their old G4 Mac Mini to work with the SDK anyway.

I know some people use ToolChain but I haven't read anywhere if they have much luck doing so nor if they could submit the applications to the App store.

Just a few questions I cannot find a definitive answer anywhere from Googling around.

Thanks!
01-24-2009, 02:05 AM
#2
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Cali-forn-i-a
Posts: 2,302
yes you must have a mac and by looking at that "what comp to buy" thread i think you will see a lot of people recommended a mini. Yes, i believe it has to be an intel.

dirty deeds and their dunderchee
01-24-2009, 02:08 AM
#3
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Cali-forn-i-a
Posts: 2,302
check here
http://forums.toucharcade.com/showth...?threadid=4172

They recommend a mac mini or a new white macbook. If you can get them refurb'ed or used that is probably a good option too.

dirty deeds and their dunderchee
01-24-2009, 02:13 AM
#4
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks, guys. I wish they'd put that info on the FAQ or Features pages on the 3D engine websites to make it clear
01-24-2009, 02:35 AM
#5
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Cali-forn-i-a
Posts: 2,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by WauloK View Post
Thanks, guys. I wish they'd put that info on the FAQ or Features pages on the 3D engine websites to make it clear
heh, i was tho only person who posted... I guess that makes me two guys!

dirty deeds and their dunderchee
01-24-2009, 02:37 AM
#6
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Twins are people two...