★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: How important is "multiplayer" to you?

View Poll Results: When you buy games, how important is "multiplayer" and would you pay more for it?
Multiplayer is great, I can see myself paying more for it 40 53.33%
It's nice, but I won't pay extra for it 18 24.00%
I don't care for it 17 22.67%
Voters: 75. You may not vote on this poll
01-26-2009, 08:53 AM
How important is "multiplayer" to you?

As a developer, I'd be very interested in the wisdom of the fine Touch Arcade crowd when it comes to the following question:

When you buy games for iPhone/iPod Touch, do you consider multiplayer features important? (obviously, doesn't apply to all games). If so, if you had two similar games (think various versions of chess, tic-tac-toe or even Bomberman vs Bomber Online), would you pay more for the one that supports multiplayer vs the one that doesn't?

Thanks in advance for your input

Developer of the multiplayer online game Scramboni | FriendFeed
01-26-2009, 08:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteclub View Post
As a developer, I'd be very interested in the wisdom of the fine Touch Arcade crowd when it comes to the following question:

When you buy games for iPhone/iPod Touch, do you consider multiplayer features important? (obviously, doesn't apply to all games). If so, if you had two similar games (think various versions of chess, tic-tac-toe or even Bomberman vs Bomber Online), would you pay more for the one that supports multiplayer vs the one that doesn't?

Thanks in advance for your input
It depends on the game. If the game has a solid singleplayer mode it can be not so important, while a tic-tac-toe does not make sense to me without the online. Actually I am tempted to buy Uno solely on the basis of the multiplayer feature.

01-26-2009, 09:01 AM