★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Modern Warfare 2 Circle Scratch Question

02-07-2010, 06:01 PM
#1
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Eliminate Waitingville
Posts: 827
Modern Warfare 2 Circle Scratch Question

I don't know where to out this thread but I had to ask my TA people because no other forum would respond. So I was playing MW 2 with my friend online my 360 tips over and circle scratches my disc. I turn my 360 back on and it says play game I click it the infamous unreadable disc message comes on. So if I borrow my friends game, install it to my hard drive can I play my scratched disc? Please help I haven't played MW 2 in a month. It's hell

GameCenter Username: DaDramaLlama (Please Add!)
Playing and Loving: Dungeon Defenders, Starfront, Starfall TD(VERY UNDERRATED GAME)
"No I'm not high, I'm just way cooler than you"
02-07-2010, 06:04 PM
#2
No. It sounds like you or someone/something bumped your 360 while the disc was in the drive. Did you go from Vertical to Horizontal or vice-versa, while the console was on?

Installing to the hard drive doesn't actually help that kind of stuff. It makes some games load faster, but you still need a readable disc to play them.

You'll need to try and get your disc buffed out or get a new copy somewhere (if it's under warranty from GameStop or something, you could try bringing it back to them and getting a new copy in its place).

02-07-2010, 06:54 PM
#3
Joined: May 2009
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 5,195
Actually, I think you can. I treid to do it with my friend's copy of MW1 but I installed it on my friends console with my hdd but it needs to be on that console and hdd. All it does is install all the game's data to the hdd, then use the disc to activate it. So if it's scratched, it can still play since the messed up data is on the hdd, therefore it doesn't need to be read from the disc. If you install it using your friend's working disc on your console and harddrive, it should work fine.
02-07-2010, 07:27 PM
#4
Go buy the game new at walmart, swap the disk, and have your mom return it. It will cost you 50-60 upfront but you get it back.
02-07-2010, 07:46 PM
#5
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaDramaLlama View Post
I don't know where to out this thread but I had to ask my TA people because no other forum would respond. So I was playing MW 2 with my friend online my 360 tips over and circle scratches my disc. I turn my 360 back on and it says play game I click it the infamous unreadable disc message comes on. So if I borrow my friends game, install it to my hard drive can I play my scratched disc? Please help I haven't played MW 2 in a month. It's hell
Pop the disk in the tray and if the mw2 icon comes up then you can install your friend's mw2 game on the hard drive and play it.
Same thing happened to me with far cry 2.

In even shorter words, yes, your method is fine- If the icon comes up.
02-07-2010, 08:30 PM
#6
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,509
As long as the 360 can verify that the disc is MW2, you're good to go.
02-07-2010, 09:58 PM
#7
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: ,,,,,,,
Posts: 814
This EXACT thing happened to me and I was worried out of my mind. What I did was bring the disc to this local video game store called Bandit Video Games and they had like a disc fixer machine which costed 5bucks but it made it like new. Runs as somoothly as when I got it. I believe someone told me that Hollywood Video also carries those machines for 2bucks a pop or sumthing. That is what I recommend you do.

[ERROR<:>/ insert witty saying here/>]
02-07-2010, 10:08 PM
#8
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Eliminate Waitingville
Posts: 827
I can't see the icon but I believe with a little of buffing it will. So I'll try. I got it with the Xbox 360 bundle for Christmas at best buy. I still have the receipt so can I trade it back in?

GameCenter Username: DaDramaLlama (Please Add!)
Playing and Loving: Dungeon Defenders, Starfront, Starfall TD(VERY UNDERRATED GAME)
"No I'm not high, I'm just way cooler than you"
02-07-2010, 10:11 PM
#9
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,559
Send a message via AIM to RttaM Send a message via Yahoo to RttaM
It's close to impossible to understand what your saying. Maybe it's because it's 10pm at night..