★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Will iDevices ever be the portable devices of choice for hardcore gamers?

02-14-2010, 11:26 PM
Will iDevices ever be the portable devices of choice for hardcore gamers?

The whole discussion about console gaming vs. iPhone gaming in another thread lead me to think about this topic due to the DS/PSP comparisons in there.

My main question is if anyone thinks the iDevices (iPhone, iPod touch, iPad) will eventually become the portable game devices of choice for hardcore gamers. The iPhone has the market cornered on casual portable gaming. I can't tell you how many hours I've put into Flight Control or Bejeweled 2 since I started playing iPhone games a couple months ago, but it does seem to be somewhat lacking in full high quality games for hardcore gamers. Sure there are a number of higher quality good games on the platform like Inotia 2, the Gameloft shooters, and other various titles, but head to head against the top DS/PSP games and the iPhone titles seem to pale in comparion.

The one game that really made me think there could be a future where iPhone titles meet the quality of the other portable devices is GTA:CTW. This game is very close if not identical in quality to the PSP/DS versions and has proven that portable console quality games can be made. Do you think we'll see a greater amount of these in the future? Are we going to see RPG's, shooters, and other hardcore games of the quality found on the PSP and DS?

What are everyone's thoughts on this?

Currently Playing: Plants vs. Zombies, The War of Eustrath, Zenonia 1, Phoenix Wright, The Quest
Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/txag2005
Win ANY APP in Headcase Games' Daily 180 Twitter contest!
02-14-2010, 11:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by txag2005 View Post
The whole discussion about console gaming vs. iPhone gaming in another thread lead me to think about this topic due to the DS/PSP comparisons in there.