Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iOS Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:20 AM
organerito organerito is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 583
Default is there a remote for Windows Media Player?

I know there are many remotes and vcn apps, but I am looking for a remote like the Apple one where you can see artwork and playlists?

Thanks

Last edited by organerito; 02-04-2009 at 11:26 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2009, 07:06 PM
organerito organerito is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 583
Default

Nobody knows?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2009, 08:40 PM
Paulio Paulio is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 3GS, OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 775
Send a message via MSN to Paulio
Default

with the iTunes one, it's made by apple so there probably isn't a WMP one. You can get just a remote app tho, with pause, skip, play, etc. but I'm pretty sure there are none like the Apple Remote (ie. showing all the info) for any other media player.. why not just use iTunes? It's not that bad.. well, not that bad for listening to music, most other features suck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2009, 10:21 PM
D.Sync D.Sync is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 597
Send a message via MSN to D.Sync Send a message via Yahoo to D.Sync
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by organerito View Post
I know there are many remotes and vcn apps, but I am looking for a remote like the Apple one where you can see artwork and playlists?

Thanks
Why not just using any app that can turns your iDevices into a wireless remote instead of buying separate remote app for separate media player (eg: VLC, XBMC). Something like QwasiPad that acts as a universal (multi-purposed remote control) will do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:35 AM
organerito organerito is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D.Sync View Post
Why not just using any app that can turns your iDevices into a wireless remote instead of buying separate remote app for separate media player (eg: VLC, XBMC). Something like QwasiPad that acts as a universal (multi-purposed remote control) will do.
I have Jaadu Vcn, which works as a remote. However, as I don't listen usually to my music where the computer is, I would like to change the music just as I can do with the Apple Remote. I'll take a look at the VLC one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2009, 07:11 PM
Paulio Paulio is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 3GS, OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 775
Send a message via MSN to Paulio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by organerito View Post
I have Jaadu Vcn, which works as a remote. However, as I don't listen usually to my music where the computer is, I would like to change the music just as I can do with the Apple Remote. I'll take a look at the VLC one.
So if your not at your computer, there is no need to worry about iTunes hogging all your resources for your computer, so why not use iTunes and the Apple Remote app? If this is what you want to do, why not just do it? iTunes automatically converts you WMA music into AAC so there is no need to want to use your windows software at all.. plus you have an iDevice, so all your music should already be AAC and therefore it makes no sense why you want to use WMP in the first place..?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2009, 09:12 PM
Kamazar Kamazar is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,522
Default

Yeah, to get music on your iWhatever, you have to import to iTunes. Why not just use that? WMP is a bit of a hassle at times, plus, you have to reimport all your music. You confuzzle me
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2009, 07:28 AM
organerito organerito is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulio View Post
So if your not at your computer, there is no need to worry about iTunes hogging all your resources for your computer, so why not use iTunes and the Apple Remote app? If this is what you want to do, why not just do it? iTunes automatically converts you WMA music into AAC so there is no need to want to use your windows software at all.. plus you have an iDevice, so all your music should already be AAC and therefore it makes no sense why you want to use WMP in the first place..?
The Ipod touch is the only Mp3 I have bought from Apple. Most of my music is in MP3 format at 320 Kbps or WMA lossless. I don't want convert my music to AAC because it'll lose sound quality and I don't really use my Ipod touch or any ipod to listen to music.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2009, 07:35 AM
iGewappnet iGewappnet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mainz, Germany
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by organerito View Post
Most of my music is in MP3 format at 320 Kbps or WMA lossless.
You don't have to! MP3 could be used directly in iTunes and if you convert WMA lossless to Apple lossless you will not lose quality.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2009, 04:40 PM
Paulio Paulio is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 3GS, OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 775
Send a message via MSN to Paulio
Default

wait.. you bought an iPod, and don't listen to music on it? Well, that makes perfect sense..

And your not going to lose any sound quality.. any noticable quality anyway.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent