★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Dev account finally approved - when to start an "upcoming" thread?

03-10-2010, 09:47 PM
Junior Member [Original Poster]
Dev account finally approved - when to start an "upcoming" thread?

After 5 weeks it's finally approved! I just wanted to see how far along some of your folks would open up a thread there.

I've been working on my first shot for a couple months now, so it's not at ground zero. Tomorrow, when the account is set up I'll be able to hardware-deploy and get more functionality moving. There are bugs, but it should be semi-playable once I hook in the accelerometer.
03-11-2010, 12:01 AM
start the upcoming thread whenever you think it is time to reveal it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Somerandomdude View Post
...I vink you fail good sir. I don't vink vat yo get ze jok.
Proud Member of SAB
SAB Intelligence Officer

03-11-2010, 12:08 AM
I start it when I'm sure I will release it. I have a graveyard of half finished projects -- no sense in announcing if you might just scrap it. Sooner is better though, to help build awareness and get feedback.
03-11-2010, 12:11 AM
I would be careful about announcing it pre-maturely. You don't want to wait to long though.

I announce my game Bullet Skater a year too early, and development went on and off constantly. Thankfully, it's now done.

Bullet Development (twitter) Bullet Skater // Psychedelic

03-11-2010, 08:40 AM
I think I missed a memo. How do you get a dev account? I don't see any link to do so.
03-11-2010, 10:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazypeon View Post
I start it when I'm sure I will release it. I have a graveyard of half finished projects -- no sense in announcing if you might just scrap it. Sooner is better though, to help build awareness and get feedback.