★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Just recently became a developer, need advice.

03-17-2010, 12:33 AM
Just recently became a developer, need advice.

Okay, you guys all know that I have an app reviewing website right? Well, I just signed up as a developer and have been learning how to use Objective-C, Cocoa, and all of these other thngs.

I need some advice, what is the best way to make a website into an app, how would I auto update it, put RSS. etc.

And should it be free? My app icon is on the website if that helps. I'm a teenager so I am not too good at coding. I could really use some advice. Thanks guys
03-17-2010, 02:46 AM
Well, the first step is to stop annoying me with messages to tell me to check out your site.

hi

03-17-2010, 06:06 AM
Send a message via AIM to kohjingyu
You could just implement a mobile site that checks if the user is on a mobile device, and if he/she is, change the theme.
03-17-2010, 07:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Random_Guy View Post
Well, the first step is to stop annoying me with messages to tell me to check out your site.
/thread
03-17-2010, 09:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohjingyu View Post
You could just implement a mobile site that checks if the user is on a mobile device, and if he/she is, change the theme.
I don't think I'm up for that. I want to actually start making apps. It's been my life long dream ever since I became a Mac Geek

Anyway. I was wondering if It would be appropriate to insert in an in-app purchase feature that let's my users download my video packs for 0.99. Or is that a bad idea?

Also, I was wondering if you guys no any websites on how to code? Found this thing that does it for you called iPod Wizard, but I don't wanna dish out 129.95.

I am open to all suggestions. Thanks guys. I truly want to make this a great app!
03-17-2010, 10:08 PM
Make it free, put ads, put DLC if you want to. The ads will eventually overtake the cost of iPod wizard.
03-17-2010, 10:21 PM