★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: Age and Gaming

02-08-2009, 09:25 PM
Age and Gaming

I'm female, 56 years old, self supporting, college grad (pretty well educated) and I've been playing video games since the mid 1980's, starting with the good old Commodore Vic 20 (back then the games were on tape). I've owned just about every gaming platform invented and played just about every genre of game. My first computer games were on 5 1/4 inch floppies and had no graphics. I think my first gaming console was Nintendo (but I really don't remember for sure) I do remember putting down a deposit of $50 to pre order Super Nintendo and the thrill of getting it.

I have to say that now my favorite gaming platform is the iPod Touch and, as soon as my Sprint contract expires, I'll also be getting the iPhone .... but I'm also pretty fond of the PS3 (yes .... even Guitar Hero).

I've seen the gaming go from the very simple (Pong) to the very sophisticated games we have today and loved every minute of it. I used to have to go to a bar just to play "Brick Out" and then "Centipede" on table top consoles.

I kinda doubt that there are many people (especially women) my age who are sooooo into gaming but I'd love to know what your history is with gaming.

Marlene
02-08-2009, 09:33 PM
hi marlene,

well, i am 40 this year, but i was back into spectrum gaming/apple2c days and loved the coin-ops of yesteryears. and i been with pc gaming, gameboy and missed the console wars, but got into ps3 just last year, but u can say i been a gamer for the last 25 yrs or more!

and i agree with u, the iphone is such a different but wonderful gaming platform. i been gaming on the java mobile platform for over 4 yrs prior to the iphone and always felt there was a great potential for mobile gaming. but the iphone has brought mobile gaming to the masses with the app store and also, its great hardware and most importantly, indie developers