★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iAds- for developers...

04-09-2010, 03:57 AM
#1
Senior Member [Original Poster]
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 155
iAds- for developers...

So here's the thing. I know developers are going to be interested in iAds (I've seen quite a few already shouting joyfully about it), but I have a bit of an issue with ads in general. When my phone is in a 'roaming' zone (not overseas, just falling onto another carrier's network) I get charged big dollars for any data use. I'm happy to not use data when in a roaming zone, but I'm a little concerned iAds are going to be pulling data every time I run an app.

At the moment if I see an advert, it's insta-delete. I don't care how good your app is, how much I respect or like you- if you put adverts in your applications I'll throw that sucker in the bin without a second thought, because I have no idea if the ads are using the 'net or not. Some are obviously just non-updating banners, and that's fine, but otherwise it's good riddance.

So, I'm left wondering about iAds. I guess the details aren't in dev hands yet. Or, are they? Either way, I guess this is just a small note to point out that pretty much no user on the planet likes ads (understatement of the year), and some of us are willing to bin your hard work if you go the advertising route. An example is the recent Bounce On 2. I really liked the look of it, but the guys put adverts (not declared- another no no) in their lite version. I binned that, so there's no sale from me.

Please keep these things in mind, if you will. If every app I use winds up getting filled with adverts (iAds or otherwise), I'll have no choice but to throw them all away, because the iPhone on my carrier provides no way to block data, without shutting off 3G and killing the actual phone part of the phone. That would be a real shame, because I really enjoy some of the games you guys are putting out.
04-09-2010, 04:30 AM
#2
I really don't think a lot of paid apps will add adverts, or am I missing something?

Yobonja's latest game: Tap Party!

04-09-2010, 04:50 AM
#3
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Europe, Latvia, Riga
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by r10k View Post
I'm happy to not use data when in a roaming zone, but I'm a little concerned iAds are going to be pulling data every time I run an app.
This is not going to happen, don't worry.
iAds are enabled like other ads - if there is a connection to the internet. First it downloads only banner (first thing you see). And only if you click on it downloads the rest of it.

But I must say that if you hit it accidentally it will charge you a full price...

a3team - founder
web: www.a3team.com
games in AppStore: Arco Pong, Avoid Maze, Sam the Fish
04-09-2010, 08:45 AM
#4
iAds changes nothing for the end user.

It's just another ad network like admob or quattro wireless or any of the half a dozen out there. If it didn't come from Apple, no one would even blink an eye. There are apps now that use ads and there will plenty of apps that continue to use ads in the future.

Btw, I'm overseas a ton as well. You should consider entering a fake APN profile if you don't want to risk data charges. I remove the profile when I want to actually pay for data, then re-install it when I'm done. All wirelessly through Safari on whatever the telecom for my sim. All the while my phone continues to work as normal.

Last edited by MrBlue; 04-09-2010 at 08:52 AM. Reason: clarify for Safari
04-09-2010, 10:10 AM
#5
Senior Member [Original Poster]
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 155
Quote:
iAds are enabled like other ads - if there is a connection to the internet.
There is a connection to the internet- 3G. It's how the phone takes calls by default, and its how it connects to the 'net, aside from wi-fi, of course.

Quote:
First it downloads only banner (first thing you see). And only if you click on it downloads the rest of it.
That's the problem. I pay a ton of money for the banners that are downloaded. I have a set monthly amount of network traffic, unless it comes from a 3rd party network. I pay for that one top of my set monthly amount. Needless to say, I try and keep that at zero.

Quote:
If it didn't come from Apple, no one would even blink an eye.
That's the other problem. Apple's behind it, and their number will increase.

Quote:
You should consider entering a fake APN profile if you don't want to risk data charges. I remove the profile when I want to actually pay for data, then re-install it when I'm done.
Not that I know how to do that (or even sure that I can) but that's not really practical for every day use. I'm on roaming half of the time, and in 3G zones the rest. But that's beside the point. There are tons of people in Australia (where I am) who have the same issue. They can't afford to run ads that have any kind of 'net-based connectivity.

I mean, if Apple sort out OS4 and let people restrict this kind of thing with the flick of a switch- problem solved! But, I don't really see that happening.

Last edited by r10k; 04-09-2010 at 10:13 AM.
04-09-2010, 11:20 AM
#6
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by r10k View Post
There is a connection to the internet- 3G. It's how the phone takes calls by default, and its how it connects to the 'net, aside from wi-fi, of course.
Calls are over GSM. 3G is for data only. (Skype counts as data) If you don't want to use data when roaming, turn off data roaming in your settings. (Settings -> General -> Network) Problem solved.

[Relax with Galactic Chill] [Let me tell you a story.]
Currently working on: Music for Spirit Hunter Mineko
04-09-2010, 12:22 PM
#7
Senior Member [Original Poster]
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 155
Quote:
Calls are over GSM. 3G is for data only.
Sorry, yes, that I know. My mistake. If what I said were true, I wouldn't be able to make calls in a non-3G roaming zone

Quote:
If you don't want to use data when roaming, turn off data roaming in your settings. (Settings -> General -> Network) Problem solved.
Problem not solved. I don't have that option on my iPhone (something to with how it's locked to the carrier). There has been talk about mucking with VPN settings and hoping for the best, but that's a bit of a mess to figure out.
04-11-2010, 01:30 AM
#8
@r10k: Have you asked your carrier how you can get this option? That's another way of solving your problem. Ads are a great way for devs to monetize their apps especially now that "app discovery" has been a prevalent problem in the AppStore so I don't think you can avoid them. Even if you "insta-delete" an ad-based app from your device, chances are, it already cost you a substantial amount from the initial ad.
04-11-2010, 05:11 AM
#9
Senior Member [Original Poster]
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 155
That's a good idea, egarayblas. I'm doubtful that'll work (I think the lack of setting is down to the sim it's locked to) but it's worth a look.

Quote:
Even if you "insta-delete" an ad-based app from your device, chances are, it already cost you a substantial amount from the initial ad.
I usually test apps while connected to wi-fi, so that's not really an issue. But, I'm not always on wi-fi, so...
04-11-2010, 09:04 AM
#10
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK / Toronto
Posts: 602
Doesn't Apple's 60% share to devs make iAds much more favorable than Admob? What is AdMob's typical revenue share, does anyone know? I heard it was ridiculously small but can't remember the exact figure off the top of my head.