★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Fieldrunners - techniques?

10-12-2008, 04:09 PM
Send a message via AIM to blakespot
Fieldrunners - techniques?

Ok. I want to reach the 4xx,xxx score Arn (obviously untruthfully) claims to have reached on the Hard level.

Anyone care to share successful tower deployment techniques?

blakespot

:: Blake Patterson :: Touch Arcade administrator
:: [twitter] [me] [flickr]
10-12-2008, 04:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakespot View Post
Ok. I want to reach the 4xx,xxx score Arn (obviously untruthfully) claims to have reached on the Hard level.

Anyone care to share successful tower deployment techniques?

blakespot

Here's my high scores so far. I haven't played many games yet and I'm new to tower defense, but I think I have a pretty solid strategy. I only tried hard mode once (i think that's high score number 3). I lost because I screwed up. I think I can beat it next time.

The second picture is my what my setup ended up looking like. I make sure to line the big weapons mostly in the center to take care of the helicopters. I also make sure to place the bigger ones so the runners will cross them twice. I make sure to have multiple goo towers near big stuff, so they hit more runners at one time.

That set up works like magic. I was tempted to put the game down at level 80 and come back when I won. I did end up having to change it for the very last wave (removing the towers the runners already passed and upgrading the towers at the end). Only the runners in the last wave made it past the halfway point.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0001.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	30   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.jpg
Views:	315
Size:	21.9 KB
ID:	31  

10-12-2008, 04:35 PM