★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: iPhone's volume buttons as controls?

02-16-2009, 06:32 PM
#1
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 279
Send a message via MSN to Forerunnerz
iPhone's volume buttons as controls?

I'm just wondering, but is it possible for the iPhone volume buttons to be used as actual buttons in a game? FPS's would be able to use em as fire and grenade buttons. If not in official iPhone apps, do you think they can be used in a Jailbroken game?

Please post your thoughts because I am planning on developing a FPS once I get a mac.
02-16-2009, 06:33 PM
#2
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,393
No, I do not believe it can be done, not in the current SDK at least

"Those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind"- The master himself, Dr. Seuss

02-16-2009, 06:39 PM
#3
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 536
I'd rather that they were used for the function that they were intended for.

Even so, Apple prohibit remapping of the buttons on the device, so your only route is jailbreak. Bear in mind also that 1st generation touch users wouldn't be able to play the game at all if you went down that route.

Games Uncovered: The best iPhone gaming news and reviews.
www.gamesuncovered.com
twitter.com/gamesuncovered
youtube.com/gamesuncovered
02-16-2009, 06:43 PM
#4
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 216
That would be awesome, but no, its not possible.

Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings.
02-16-2009, 06:48 PM
#5
yes, there was a thread a while back on this but for the home button. it will not work
02-16-2009, 06:51 PM
#6
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibelongintheforums View Post
yes, there was a thread a while back on this but for the home button. it will not work
That would be amazingly awesome if it would work.

BTW, this is my 100th post

Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings.
02-16-2009, 06:55 PM
#7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dfender2022 View Post
That would be amazingly awesome if it would work.

BTW, this is my 100th post
congrats!!

90 of them came in the past two days. ever since u became friends with me
02-16-2009, 06:56 PM
#8
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 430
Haha Wow. Smart thinking. Those volume buttons could be cool if it would work. Could be used to switch items or something.
02-16-2009, 06:57 PM
#9
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 279
Send a message via MSN to Forerunnerz
Wow, forgot how fast these forums move. Well thanks for the info everyone. If only Apple can incorporate it into the SDK and developers can make two control sets, 1 for iPod touch, and 1 for iPhone.