★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: Hell's Kitchen

02-20-2009, 07:29 AM
Hell's Kitchen

Has anyone tried Hell's Kitchen with Gordon Ramsay? (http://appshopper.com/games/hells-kitchen)
02-20-2009, 07:31 AM
It's apparently popular in Europe. To answer your question, no. I actually don't remember a North America release. There was a console game, though.

I'm a staff editor at GamePodunk.com. Follow me on Twitter (@HLLivingLoco) for games and fun!

02-20-2009, 07:42 AM
I got it, it's actually quite enjoyable. It's a time management game in the vein of Diner Dash or Chocolate Shop Frenzy.

But they've neutered Gordon. It's just not the same when he's not going psycho and swearing...
02-20-2009, 07:47 AM
I've got it

It's not awful, very similar to the Nintendo DS version I think, which received rather luke warm (at best!) review scores. The game plays very much like Diner Dash, with a Gordon Ramsay makeover. Currently it's a bit slow to load and the animations between starting/ending a game are a bit jerky and awkward, generally feels like it needs some optimisation (at least on my 3G iPhone). It includes some recipes, but they're a bit hard to read (tiny blurry text and awkward scrolling).

Still, it is mildly amusing and at least it doesn't look like it was made for girls! (like most of the other Diner Dash clones). I'd probably say hold out for a price drop unless you're really into Gordon Ramsay...

n.b. there's no swearing in the game, which slightly dilutes the realism for me...
02-20-2009, 07:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by howiedeano View Post
Currently it's a bit slow to load and the animations between starting/ending a game are a bit jerky and awkward, generally feels like it needs some optimisation (at least on my 3G iPhone). It includes some recipes, but they're a bit hard to read (tiny blurry text and awkward scrolling).
So the update from Feb 3 hasn't fixed that?
Quote:
What's new

Easier to read text.