★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

How to restrict your app to run on certain devices?

05-21-2010, 12:58 AM
#1
Joined: May 2010
Location: Vologda, Russia
Posts: 38
Send a message via Skype™ to Playrix
How to restrict your app to run on certain devices?

Hey guys,

I have a question: we submitted an app to the iTunes and for some reason, now the description page says that the game can run on iPhone, iPod touch and iPad. However, it was not built to run on iPad. Please advise us what we should do to update the game and restrict the requirements. Thank you!

-Dasha

Dasha Kobzeva
dasha@playrix.com
Skype: dasha.kobzeva
05-21-2010, 09:16 AM
#2
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 754
Send a message via Skype™ to mobile1up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Playrix View Post
Hey guys,

I have a question: we submitted an app to the iTunes and for some reason, now the description page says that the game can run on iPhone, iPod touch and iPad. However, it was not built to run on iPad. Please advise us what we should do to update the game and restrict the requirements. Thank you!

-Dasha
do you have a reason not to support the ipad? iphone applications run in 1x or 2x scaling mode on the ipad with a black border/padding. no reason not to restrict it unless you have licensing concerns. you could check the device name and then quit the application if you do not detect an iphone or ipod touch.

// Aaron Ardiri
Mobile 1UP is a proud indie developer - support us!
developer of Caveman / Caveman HD and GW Series

05-21-2010, 09:51 AM
#3
For that matter, there's no reason why licensing concerns would even affect what devices it could run on.

There's a simple hack to get around it anyway, so all you'll be doing is pissing people of.
05-21-2010, 09:54 AM
#4
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 754
Send a message via Skype™ to mobile1up
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmn0210 View Post
For that matter, there's no reason why licensing concerns would even affect what devices it could run on.There's a simple hack to get around it anyway, so all you'll be doing is pissing people of.
you need to be jailbroken to do that hack.

in regards to licensing; if you have content you are reselling, your contract may not allow ipad, and only allow iphone/ipod touch - stupid, but from a legal standpoint it could exist

// Aaron Ardiri
Mobile 1UP is a proud indie developer - support us!
developer of Caveman / Caveman HD and GW Series
05-21-2010, 10:20 AM
#5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobile1up View Post
you need to be jailbroken to do that hack.

in regards to licensing; if you have content you are reselling, your contract may not allow ipad, and only allow iphone/ipod touch - stupid, but from a legal standpoint it could exist
Very true, it could legally exist. What I meant is there'd be no reason for any company to come up with an agreement like that. I suppose if a company really wanted to license out their content to a second developer for the iPad version we might see such a situation, but then that'd be more of a pain in the ass for them than anyone else.

As for the "hack", I'm referring to the same trick that's for bypassing device and OS restrictions in GTA, which AFAIK never required anything to be jailnbroken. Unless something's changed radically since 3.1.3 (which it might have done, I haven't been following the jailbreaking scene at all lately) it should still work fine.
05-21-2010, 10:52 AM
#6
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 317
In general, you can't restrict your app from iPad, this has been discussed quite a bit in the official dev forums. The iPad was made to be compatible with iPhone/iPod Touch apps, it's a selling point of the iPad, and Apple doesn't want you restricting them. If you don't create a universal app then it runs in that compatiblity mode. The only way you can restrict it is to use a piece of hardware the iPad doesn't have, like a camera, but of course that restricts it from iPod touch as well.
05-21-2010, 12:51 PM
#7
Joined: May 2010
Location: Vologda, Russia
Posts: 38
Send a message via Skype™ to Playrix
Thanks! You guys have been very helpful. Really appreciated your assistance.

Dasha Kobzeva
dasha@playrix.com
Skype: dasha.kobzeva
05-21-2010, 09:57 PM
#8
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Perv, why do you care?
Posts: 1,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Playrix View Post
Thanks! You guys have been very helpful. Really appreciated your assistance.
Yep. You're welcome.
05-22-2010, 04:05 AM
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmn0210 View Post
Very true, it could legally exist. What I meant is there'd be no reason for any company to come up with an agreement like that. I suppose if a company really wanted to license out their content to a second developer for the iPad version we might see such a situation, but then that'd be more of a pain in the ass for them than anyone else.

As for the "hack", I'm referring to the same trick that's for bypassing device and OS restrictions in GTA, which AFAIK never required anything to be jailnbroken. Unless something's changed radically since 3.1.3 (which it might have done, I haven't been following the jailbreaking scene at all lately) it should still work fine.
noT to be all offtopic, but what is this (hack) called?

OpenFeint/Plus+/Crystal/GameloftLive:- OctopodSquad

Add me if you want!
Do it.
05-31-2010, 10:49 AM
#10
Let's say I design my app specific to the iPad but I would also like users of 3GS to buy the app but NOT ALLOW users of 3G or earlier phones.

The reason is simple - 3G doesn't quite have the hardware to render a high polygon count (OpenGL) that my game pushes at a decent FPS. Therefore the user experience is hindered quite a bit.

I remember once upon a time when submitting an app one could specify what hardware to run on. This feature appears to gone now.

So, how would I accomplish this feat?