★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

OpenFeint Test users?

06-24-2010, 07:50 AM
#1
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 199
OpenFeint Test users?

For those who have had OF integrated in your games, how were you able to add your beta testers as OF Test users? I noticed that its asking for the player's email and password but I don't think the beta testers will actually share their passwords for me to include them in the OF Test users section. I also don't feel comfortable asking them to create dummy/temporary accounts just for the beta. Any workaround? Ideas?

Thanks in advance!
06-24-2010, 08:59 AM
#2
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,005
You can ask the testers to create a 2nd OF account, whose password would be shared with you. It's really not that big a deal, and I'm not sure why you wouldn't feel comfortable. Some might even be willing to just give you their password for their main OF account. Or you could even create a test account for them ready-to-use with new username/password.

Quote:
Originally Posted by egarayblas View Post
For those who have had OF integrated in your games, how were you able to add your beta testers as OF Test users? I noticed that its asking for the player's email and password but I don't think the beta testers will actually share their passwords for me to include them in the OF Test users section. I also don't feel comfortable asking them to create dummy/temporary accounts just for the beta. Any workaround? Ideas?

Thanks in advance!

06-24-2010, 11:36 AM
#3
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: the 56th realm of existence
Posts: 5,948
my password goes to the dev in betas?
oh sh*t


Beta tester of 54 games
Quote:
Originally Posted by crex View Post
Thats a nice lookin gun.
06-24-2010, 12:53 PM
#4
Joined: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by egarayblas View Post
For those who have had OF integrated in your games, how were you able to add your beta testers as OF Test users? I noticed that its asking for the player's email and password but I don't think the beta testers will actually share their passwords for me to include them in the OF Test users section. I also don't feel comfortable asking them to create dummy/temporary accounts just for the beta. Any workaround? Ideas?

Thanks in advance!
Presumably you are only worried about the highscores. Who cares if all your testers have all their achievements? You could always, at some point just before release, move to a different set of tables and hide all the ones used during the dev phase.

-=< Fat Owl With A Jetpack >=-
-=< Topia World Builder >=-
-=< Twitter >=-
-=< Blog >=-
06-25-2010, 08:07 AM
#5
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 199
Thanks for your inputs guys.

No I'm not worried about the high scores. I'm just concerned about players who are "serious" about their OF accounts and achievement points (I know a lot who value this too much). Guess you're right, it wouldn't hurt to ask them about it--I just wanted everyone to test OF w/in my game to make sure all achievements are "achievable".
06-25-2010, 08:21 AM
#6
Joined: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 741
I'm guessing the achievement obsessives won't object to having a few extra

The real issue is if they're testing while you have a bug that allows them to get a score of 99,999,999,999,999 or a time of 00:00.0001, that's when you'd want to delete their scores/times which is why I suggested heading the beta tables and moving to new ones on the day you submit to Apple.

-=< Fat Owl With A Jetpack >=-
-=< Topia World Builder >=-
-=< Twitter >=-
-=< Blog >=-
06-27-2010, 07:31 PM
#7
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 199
I was wondering why I didn't get your suggestion the first time you mentioned it LOL.

Anyway, how do you switch tables in OF? Do I actually have to create a new app (w/in OF) and then transfer everything there?
06-28-2010, 09:55 AM
#8
Joined: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by egarayblas View Post
I was wondering why I didn't get your suggestion the first time you mentioned it LOL.

Anyway, how do you switch tables in OF? Do I actually have to create a new app (w/in OF) and then transfer everything there?
No, when testing is finished, just generate a bunch of new tables then replace the score table IDs with the IDs for these new tables in your app. The originals can then be deleted or hidden. You can also hide tables from different numbered versions of your app but I haven't used that feature yet.

-=< Fat Owl With A Jetpack >=-
-=< Topia World Builder >=-
-=< Twitter >=-
-=< Blog >=-
06-29-2010, 02:51 AM
#9
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 199