★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

I'll buy it when there's a sale.

06-26-2010, 06:25 AM
I'll buy it when there's a sale.

"I'll buy it when there's a sale."

Is it just me that gets increasingly annoyed seeing posts like this around tA? I appreciate that the nature of the App Store involves constantly changing prices, but personally I find posts like this quite unpleasant.

If I was a dev and I'd spent months pouring all my energy into a game only for some cheapskate to tell me that 1.19 was too much for all my effort and they'd buy it if it was 59p, well, that's pretty offensive don't you think? And it sometimes happens within hours of a game's thread being put up, which is even worse.

And then, clearly these people want these games, because otherwise they wouldn't be in the thread in the first place checking them out, or claiming that they're interested at a lower price.

I'm just not really sure of the mentality behind posts like this. Do they expect the dev to see and think "cripes! that person wants a sale!" and immediately drop the price so that they personally can buy a copy?

So what is the thinking behind these posts? What makes them feel like the game's thread simply needed that input?

Not having a go at anyone and indeed, I'm not perfect. There are games that I look at and think they're not worth the money and if they were cheaper I'd buy them, but I just don't feel like it needs to be said out loud. Not only is it offensive, it simply adds nothing at all of worth to the discussion of a game.

I'm just genuinely curious as to why people spend their time telling us this kind of thing, and why it's just accepted.
06-26-2010, 06:44 AM
People are poor

ssɐ sıɥ dn ɯǝɥʇ ǝʌoɥs puɐ sƃuıɹ dıɥsuoıdɯɐɥɔ sǝıɹǝs plɹoʍ ㄥᄅ sǝǝʞuɐʎ ǝɥʇ ǝʞɐʇ uɐɔ ıpɹɐɹıƃ ǝoɾ

06-26-2010, 06:53 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldglover411 View Post
People are poor
Nah, it's just they think a measly sandwich price is too much for some application...