★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Where should I start? (Game/App Development)

07-13-2010, 02:28 PM
Where should I start? (Game/App Development)

Hello all,

My name is Jake, and I am a novice C/C++ programmer who knows basically good enough programming knowledge.
I've worked with Lua before in making some small games and I'm pretty familiar and worked with C/C++ (no GUI just console work) and some Java.

I even tried playing with the iPhone SDK a little with the help of icodeblog.com and I've managed to make a simple game using UIImageView.

What I'm curious about is, where should I start? I've looked into the Apple developer documents but I can't get head nor tail out of them. And I've looked into 2 books: Oreilly's GameDev and Deitel's iPhone for Programmers but both seem to point to advanced developers who only look for a reference.

I also looked at the WWDC 10 sessions but I don't see any beginners choice..

So what do you suggest I start? Which would be easier App or Game development for me? And if game, cocos2d or OpenGL or what? And where should I start?

Thank you,
Jake.
07-13-2010, 11:05 PM
I think the Apress book Beginning Iphone Games Development is brilliant. It takes you through a variety of technologies and the code is good enough to use in production (unlike many books). Even if you end up using something like Unity or cocos2d the book gives you a good grounding that will be invaluable.
07-14-2010, 01:57 AM
I think you might want to answer a couple of very simple questions before even looking at where to start.

1. What is your goal.
It can be to make a game, to experiment, to learn about the platform or even all at once.

2. Do i have a plan to reach my goal.
If you don't, make a very quick and dirty road map of the things needed in order to achieve your goal. It will force you to think about what needs to be done and prioritize your tasks. It might as well answer your question as to where you should start.