★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

From an Indie Dev: How to compensate artists with limited resources

03-01-2009, 05:09 PM
From an Indie Dev: How to compensate artists with limited resources

Hi,

I am an indie game developer, and am producing my current project Spellwars on basically no budget. I am between large contracts, so I have a lot of time to devote to it myself, and I'm making great progress. I will need to bring in more engineering help before I launch it probably, but for now I'm ok in that department.

Where I am in desperate need of help is in the design/art department. I need to get contributions from some artists and designers, but I have more or less, no capital to speak of. I am trying to figure out how I can manage to get the contributions I need, with the resources I have. My options, as I see them, are:

#1. Get more resources. Get some funding, take out a loan, go further into debt, whatever...just find some money somewhere, and pay my designers well.

#2. Find creatives who will contribute for minimal cash up front. Use online contests or some other such mechanism. The types of motivations for these types of people would be to build up their own portfolio, to have their art/design work in a game. Basically they'd be doing it for the love.

#3. Offer percentages of revenue to artists. This can be combined with #1 and #2. I want to get small contributions from a lot of artists, ideally say 2-5 pieces of spell art per artist, and maybe 20-30 artists. I'd like 1 or 2 lead designers, but the bulk of the work is going to be highly distributed...which doesn't lend itself well to the stock option approach.