Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Developer Discussion > Public Game Developers Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-03-2009, 01:41 PM
RetroGuy RetroGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Thanks Zwilnik, very helpful. Yeah there comes a point where it's not worth the hassle. Saving $30? Maybe. Saving $10? Not worth it, might as well buy it installed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-03-2009, 02:42 PM
Midnight Status Midnight Status is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 159
Default

I just bought a new Mac Mini in November to replace my old PPC unit. The only thing I could use with the new model is the ability to compute hardware occlusion culling. The Intel 950 chipset doesn't allow for it which is a real bummer. As it is though I think we got good performance out of SkylineBlade without it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2009, 02:53 PM
WellSpentYouth's Avatar
WellSpentYouth WellSpentYouth is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: App Tech Studios, USA
Posts: 1,355
Default

A new mac pro and iMac also!! I guess I'll have to get a new computer
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2009, 03:01 PM
lazypeon's Avatar
lazypeon lazypeon is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 543
Default

I bought the 1GB Mini a few months ago for iPhone dev. A few things:

1. It does just fine for iPhone dev; I haven't run into any issues
2. 1gb seems to be enough RAM
3. If you think you might want more than 1GB, buy it installed.

Seriously, installing RAM in the Mini is not for the faint of heart. I'm by no means experienced installing hardware upgrades, but usually changing RAM in a Mini is not like changing the RAM in a tower or a laptop. Just do a Google search for 'mac mini ram install' and you'll see what I mean. You have to pry the thing open, and then take a bunch of stuff out before you can access the RAM.

Like I said, I think 1gb is fine for iPhond dev but if you think you want more, just buy it installed (or at least view the tutorials to see what you're in for).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-03-2009, 03:08 PM
dannys95 dannys95 is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,253
Default

I could get this new one.........................but I'm almost done saving for my MB.............what do you think? I think I'll get my MB.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-03-2009, 03:33 PM
HardcoreEricXXX HardcoreEricXXX is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (2nd Gen), OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,041
Default

Yay! My bedroom's entertainment system is complete. PC in the living room, mac+360 in the bedroom.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-03-2009, 03:33 PM
lithiastudios lithiastudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazypeon View Post
I bought the 1GB Mini a few months ago for iPhone dev. A few things:

1. It does just fine for iPhone dev; I haven't run into any issues
2. 1gb seems to be enough RAM
3. If you think you might want more than 1GB, buy it installed.

Seriously, installing RAM in the Mini is not for the faint of heart. I'm by no means experienced installing hardware upgrades, but usually changing RAM in a Mini is not like changing the RAM in a tower or a laptop. Just do a Google search for 'mac mini ram install' and you'll see what I mean. You have to pry the thing open, and then take a bunch of stuff out before you can access the RAM.

Like I said, I think 1gb is fine for iPhond dev but if you think you want more, just buy it installed (or at least view the tutorials to see what you're in for).
Yeah, I have built my own PCs several times in the past over the years, and once I saw the instructions for installing memory in a Mini, I decided against it. With how tiny and cramped the case is, there's not much room for error when putting everything back in.

Looking back, I'd probably buy more memory installed, even though they charge you more than it's worth.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-05-2009, 01:57 PM
mrbass mrbass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States of America
Posts: 2,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroGuy View Post
Thanks arn.

Does anyone know how easy it is to upgrade RAM in a mini by yourself, or does that void any warranty? I see from the store I can spend $50 to upgrade from 1gb to 2gb. I'm a PC user and I'm used to buying memory much cheaper.
Think couple years ago when I got my mac mini ppc one it only had 512MB and they were asking insane amount for more memory so I plopped in 1GB of RAM and it wasn't too hard with the right tools. I can't play wow on it anymore though it's so sluggish since wothlk and plus the new patch needs ton of hd space and I only got like 5GB free so it refuses to install.

Can't believe it took them this long to refresh their mac minis I couldn't recommend them for the past couple of years with their crappy video now I can't finally recommend them once more.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-06-2009, 04:00 PM
TKO TKO is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 378
Default

Wohoo! I'm so glad it's out. Graphics chipset is *just* good enough now that I'm not so put-off by it. But as for upgrading RAM or anything else, I can only say DON'T DO IT! ..you have to *pry* the case open with a putty-knife (or similar but more expensive tool), and it's a bit of a mess of components inside. I got my old PPC mini done officially and the shop guys hated me for making them do it ..damn modem-sound stopped being reliable after too. (Think there was a loose connection, but didn't want it pried open again.)

For the price, I think just get it with the upgraded RAM. The cost is okay.

Last edited by TKO; 03-06-2009 at 04:02 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-06-2009, 08:04 PM
RetroGuy RetroGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Thanks for the tips guys. I think I may as well get the 2GB. Better to have the memory and not need it, than need it and not have it, especially considering the hassle it sounds like to deal with it post-purchase.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent