★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

How much money do you think it cost gameloft to make nova?

08-04-2010, 12:34 AM
How much money do you think it cost gameloft to make nova?

I'm looking into putting a team together(my own studio) to create a fps like nova in terms of quality. I'm new to the game world so how much do you think it would cost?
08-04-2010, 03:12 AM
Hey,
The answer is: a lot of your money and time
You should really consider about doing this, cause gameloft is large company with huge amount of resources and experience, so they can afford it, and you are new to this.
I suggest you to start with smaller projects.

That's my two cents...

08-04-2010, 03:25 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by domo607 View Post
I'm looking into putting a team together(my own studio) to create a fps like nova in terms of quality. I'm new to the game world so how much do you think it would cost?
Depending on how hard-core experienced and productive your team is (so you can save on the head-count), expect a project like that to cost anything from close to a million to multiple millions of dollars.

Where your team is located is also a factor, it's certainly cheaper to operate in a country where the average wage is lower, but you will then run into a higher risk of quality concerns.

You can always read through the credits list of Nova, estimate which people were needed full-time through the majority of the project (leads, engineers, artists) and who are part-timers or subcontractors (marketing, QA etc.) and multiply those numbers by an average wage plus fixed expenses. Expect the project to last at least a year, probably closer to two.
08-04-2010, 03:40 AM
Thanks for the replies. Yeah i know to start small, but the dream is to make the AAA game. A milli? thats crazy. I only have 100,000

Like I said I don't know the game world that well, but how can it cost that much money to make a little ios game? Those designers must be making bank.