★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPad: Project Sword for iPad (Epic Games)

09-01-2010, 04:24 PM
#1
👮 Spam Police 🚓 [Original Poster]
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,899
Project Sword for iPad (Epic Games)

Epic Citidel is the free tech demo for Project Sword that was released today. iPad version should be amazing.


Youtube link | Pop Up
09-01-2010, 06:19 PM
#2
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 94
It seems to me that the iPhone version of Epic Citadel still looks better on the iPhone 4 than the iPad. It seems to be a bit sharper for the iPhone 4 while the iPad version is a bit blurrier.

Attending DePaul University
Major: Computer Game Programming
Minor: Japanese Studies
Hoping to eventually work for a company such as Media Molecule or Polyphony Digital.

09-01-2010, 06:54 PM
#3
👮 Spam Police 🚓 [Original Poster]
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soi-Fong View Post
It seems to me that the iPhone version of Epic Citadel still looks better on the iPhone 4 than the iPad. It seems to be a bit sharper for the iPhone 4 while the iPad version is a bit blurrier.
Comparision between iPad and iPhone.


Youtube link | Pop Up
09-01-2010, 08:24 PM
#4
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 183
This is pretty amazing! Ran the tech demo and am blown away. Can't wait to see the games that are built with this engine!

I will say that this is really making the decision to only have 256mb on the iPad look silly. It takes a reboot to even start the game...
09-02-2010, 06:47 AM
#5
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Ballarat, Vic, Australia
Posts: 416
Send a message via Skype™ to klicktock
I couldn't get it to run on my iPad. Constantly crashed after the title screen. I assumed that everyone was crashing?!
09-02-2010, 06:51 AM
#6
Worked fine here. Amazing tech compared to what i've seen so far on the ipad.

I'm just curious what kinds of prices they'll be expecting for apps running on this engine.
09-02-2010, 10:08 AM
#7
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 12
You're supposed to have the latest iPad OS. I hadn't even realized there was an updated OS. I found out last night when I couldn't get it to complete downloading direct to the iPad. When I hooked the iPad to the Mac, iTunes told me there was an OS update to install.
09-02-2010, 09:14 PM
#8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg G View Post
This is pretty amazing! Ran the tech demo and am blown away. Can't wait to see the games that are built with this engine!

I will say that this is really making the decision to only have 256mb on the iPad look silly. It takes a reboot to even start the game...
It does look and play amazing on the iPad! I did't have to reboot to start it either- I've never had to do that with any app.
09-02-2010, 10:23 PM
#9
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 219
Ok , looks great anyway you slice it and I like what I see with there control design , but what the heck do you do ?

There will be more to it then walking around , right ?
09-03-2010, 04:16 AM
#10
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 410
No idea why you guys are having trouble starting this up, runs perfect first time everytime on my jailbroken iPad with the original firmware that was installed on it (3.12?) and has never required a reboot to start it.