★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

How difficult it is to switch to Retina Graphics?

09-28-2010, 07:22 PM
How difficult it is to switch to Retina Graphics?

Hello everyone!

I've just assembled a team to start our first project for the iPhone!
We have experience in game making (in all areas) but are new to the iOS platform. So we kinda have a few doubts about the whole thing. Some of them are quite the newbie ones! :-P

My biggest concern is about the retina display right now. We are in the process of getting an iPhone 4, but due to shipping (I'm not in the US) it may take a while for us to get it.

My question is: How difficult it is to build a game with support for the retina display? Should we start building the game with the common resolution, then perform the necessary changes to add the retina display?

I suspect this may be simple as several games have been updated to take these advantages, but I'm not a developer so I figured I should ask.

Thanks in advance!
09-28-2010, 07:31 PM
I'm not a developer, so don't take my word for this. But from my experience, it's a lot easier to reduce the quality of something (whether it's sound quality, image quality or video quality) than to increase it. Hell, it's pretty much impossible to increase the quality of something.

Most 2D games are just images. The menu, menu buttons, etc are just images. So I think most devs generally just make a very large image, then just resize it accordingly. I'm not exactly sure how 3D games work, but yea :P

Personally, I wouldn't aim for a specific resolution. I would make the image as big as possible because there will always be a better retina display.

09-28-2010, 07:42 PM
Well I know Vector images can be infinitely scaled and they won't show pixels and can be resized to whatever you want.

See this image:

So maybe that's a possibility of not having to worry about it? But I have no idea if that's possible.
09-28-2010, 07:59 PM