Touch Arcade review ?

Discussion in 'Public Game Developers Forum' started by Darkpath, Oct 5, 2010.

1. Darkpath

Darkpath Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2010
    Madrid, Spain
    Hi, I recently published my first game in the app store, Aero World (I have seen there is already a post of the game on this site, thanks, the comments helped me to improve the game in version 2.0), I would like to know that is necessary for Touch Arcade publish a review of my game at home.
    Like many on this site, I am an independent developer and I donĀ“t have many ways to publicize my game :(.

Thanks ;)

2. daygodude

daygodude Active Member

I'm right there with you. I've emailed over 20 different review sites and have only heard back from a few. I think it really comes down to money. If you were to advertise with the site I'm sure they'd review your app right quick.

3. headcaseGames

headcaseGames Well-Known Member

Jun 26, 2009
    Mobile Game Developer
    Hollywood, CA
    it's really tough man, TA is pretty much about the top-tier site you could get a review on. Knowing this, they are rather particular about what goes up there. Even if your app is pretty slick it's going to have a tough time - hell many games which Apple have featured themselves, haven't made the cut.

Look at the quality of the stuff they show on the front vs the quality of your own app. What's it's gimmick, how original is it, has it had any kind of buzz prior, and ultimately does it aesthetically look like something worth a lot more than what you are charging for it (like, if someone saw these pics, could they mistake it for a professionally-produced game running on a PSP or DS or something) If you fail to meet this criteria, then it's not worth sweating over.