Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:12 AM
MicroByte MicroByte is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: in a van down by the river...
Posts: 1,315
Default

Awesome, hope this is still available when I get home!

Stupid question - but were the old Sierra games mostly DOS based?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:21 AM
Menneisyys Menneisyys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stirolak26 View Post
Also, if you didn't grow up using does, how do you actually start the games? I know on dosbox u just drag them.
It has a command-line interface - just like all DOSBOX ports. Also, you can edit the config file to auto-start titles on bootup if you prefer.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:21 AM
Menneisyys Menneisyys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MicroByte View Post
Awesome, hope this is still available when I get home!

Stupid question - but were the old Sierra games mostly DOS based?
Up until approximately 1995, all of them. I've tested most of them under the WinMo version of DOSBOX ports; they all worked.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:22 AM
halljames halljames is offline
Senior Member
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 190
Default

cd games
cd <gamename>
<gamename>

Assuming you have got your games in the games folder. To be fair, if you dont know DOS, why even bother to try and play DOS games.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:35 AM
Stirolak26 Stirolak26 is offline
Banned
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 763
Default

Has anyone tried the rts game Anacreon?

http://trollitc.com/2009/03/anacreon...deo-game-ever/
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:36 AM
Stirolak26 Stirolak26 is offline
Banned
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by halljames View Post
cd games
cd <gamename>
<gamename>

Assuming you have got your games in the games folder. To be fair, if you dont know DOS, why even bother to try and play DOS games.
Because old school games rock, screw the interface to get them started though.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:37 AM
currymutton currymutton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,433
Default

Son of a Gun! Ultima 7! Jagged Alliance! 1942 Pacific Air War (Someone beats me to F14FD)! X-Com! Anything based on SCUMM! (Well, I am not surprised now if they port the SCUMMVM any time soon)

Digging out my old stuff...

Wait, gotta buy app first, before anything happens...

Dang! How could I miss the Falcon 3?! (You could guess my age now...)
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:57 AM
trystero trystero is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 514
Default

So did anyone get X-COM:TFTD running here? I'm at work or I would try myself. MOO 1 or 2??? MoM working is pretty sweet. Long shot, but anyone try Sword of Aragon yet?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-26-2010, 07:00 AM
halljames halljames is offline
Senior Member
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by currymutton View Post
Son of a Gun! Ultima 7! Jagged Alliance! 1942 Pacific Air War (Someone beats me to F14FD)! X-Com! Anything based on SCUMM! (Well, I am not surprised now if they port the SCUMMVM any time soon)
Very good point, if you can now have DOSBOX, why not SCUMMVM. That would be amazing. Full throttle on the iPad, dreamy
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-26-2010, 07:13 AM
Stirolak26 Stirolak26 is offline
Banned
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by halljames View Post
cd games
cd <gamename>
<gamename>

Assuming you have got your games in the games folder. To be fair, if you dont know DOS, why even bother to try and play DOS games.
How do I put them in the games folder? I am using a Mac and iTunes and have my iPad connected but after I downloaded a game I tried to drag the entire folder to the games folder on ids and it wouldn't let me or highlight only individual files would drag and they would drag to the same directory or folder as the games folder but not inside it. I also couldn't transfer entire folders but only individual files like I mentioned.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent