★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iDOS titles installation and setting thread

10-27-2010, 07:46 PM
#1
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,084
iDOS titles installation and setting thread

Okay, let's put all your CFG settings and workarounds for all the DOS title running thread.

I am not sure but it is likely that I am not maintaining this thread that often, as I am too happy with other things running around me.

Just that I don't think it is that fine to post links to illegal contents.

Please contribute, thank you.

The Unofficial Touch Arcade's Captain Slow(TM)

“Honestly, I was never terribly good at games.” - Finch (PoI S2E16)
10-27-2010, 11:38 PM
#2
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,099
Okay, considering i´ve had a pretty sleepless night thanks to Dosbox (you know, i haven´t messed around with DOS for years), here is my first little input. Let´s start easy, shall we?

Quote:

Game: Lemmings (VGA) by the awesome Psygnosis (Better known as Rockstar to todays crowd)
Device: iPhone4
Status: Graphical Glitch in Pre-Level screen due to Dosbox incompatibility, other than that fully playable with Music & Sound
Protection: Keydisc (haha, couldn´t resist)

Dosbox Settings:
core=normal
cycles=1594
You are in luck you´ve put the disclaimer up there, Psygnosis. Otherwise i would have sued you to hell already. No, i´m not an Ex Band Member from a well known Death Metal Band either, i won´t steal songs from your games and market them as my own creation.

Thinking about it, we could actually write up .bat files for those games. This way the correct settings would be loaded for each game seperately. For now i´m off to the boring thing called work though.

Challenge me on Gamecenter: tblrsa
App-Echo - Your place for German iOS App and Game Reviews
Follow us on Twitter!

Last edited by tblrsa; 10-28-2010 at 12:02 AM.

10-27-2010, 11:49 PM
#3
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: World, now Belgium
Posts: 3,031
Xenon2
Indiane Jones and the fate of Atlantis

Standard settings

[CPU]=single
Cycles 3000

-----
On GC I am FPEX
10-28-2010, 06:22 AM
#4
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: With Carmen Sandiego
Posts: 887
Day of the Tentacle
X-com
Terror from the deep

All work fine with no settings change

[CPU]=single
Cycles 3000

Game Centre I.D - Scarypharaoh
10-28-2010, 09:55 AM
#5
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarypharaoh View Post
Day of the Tentacle
X-com
Terror from the deep

All work fine with no settings change

[CPU]=single
Cycles 3000
Hrmm, except there's no way to get full talk in scumm games without the CD right? Day of the Tentacle characters talk in cutscenes but not when examining items. I own the CD, just no way to get those files onto iDOS huh... Bummer.
10-28-2010, 11:03 AM
#6
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 14
I got most of the Quest games from Sierra working at near perfect conditions with sound EXCEPT Quest for glory 4

Quest for Glory 4 - Shadows of Darkness....using my cfg settings below I was able to get it to around 70% speed, but the text would disappear so quickly without clicking the mouse, shows up on screen for like 1second, i dont know why (any ideas)?? upping the cycles just makes the sound super choppy and lowering the cylces makes the game run so slow
-

Games tested using custom cfg listed below-

Kings Quest 5 and 6 -near perfect, with full audio!
Leisure Suit Larry 1 VGA, 5, and 6 - near perfect, full audio
Police Quest 1 and 3 - near perfect, full audio
Quest for Glory 1 VGA remake, 2, and 3 - near perfect, full audio
Space Quest 1 VGA remake, 4, and 5 - near perfect, full audio
Robin Hood - 90% speed, very playble, full audio

using a ipod touch 4G with ver. 4.1, also each one has somewhat different cycles from 2500 - 3500 depending on game..so average cycle 3000

cfg

[dosbox]

[sblaster]
#sbtype=none

[render]
frameskip=0

[cpu]
core=normal
cycles=3000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
#rate=22050
#blocksize=8192
prebuffer=100

[midi]
mpu401=none
mididevice=none

[speaker]
#pcspeaker=false

[render]
scaler=none
10-28-2010, 12:19 PM
#7
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 133
I got Ultima VII working.

Initially you get an EMS memory error. To workaround you need to add a line to the cfg file thus:

[dosbox]

[dos]
# xms -- Enable XMS support.
# ems -- Enable EMS support.

xms=true
ems=false

[sblaster]
#sbtype=none

[render]
frameskip=0

[cpu]
core=normal
cycles=5500
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
#rate=22050
#blocksize=8192
prebuffer=100

[midi]
mpu401=none
mididevice=none

[speaker]
#pcspeaker=false

[render]
scaler=none

[autoexec]
SET PATH=C:\DN;C:\BASIC;C:\GAMES
10-28-2010, 03:45 PM
#8
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: World, now Belgium
Posts: 3,031
This makes ascendancy works ... Even ifvwith a stuttering audio!
Great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Law_NYCE View Post
I got most of the Quest games from Sierra working at near perfect conditions with sound EXCEPT Quest for glory 4

Quest for Glory 4 - Shadows of Darkness....using my cfg settings below I was able to get it to around 70% speed, but the text would disappear so quickly without clicking the mouse, shows up on screen for like 1second, i dont know why (any ideas)?? upping the cycles just makes the sound super choppy and lowering the cylces makes the game run so slow
-

Games tested using custom cfg listed below-

Kings Quest 5 and 6 -near perfect, with full audio!
Leisure Suit Larry 1 VGA, 5, and 6 - near perfect, full audio
Police Quest 1 and 3 - near perfect, full audio
Quest for Glory 1 VGA remake, 2, and 3 - near perfect, full audio
Space Quest 1 VGA remake, 4, and 5 - near perfect, full audio
Robin Hood - 90% speed, very playble, full audio

using a ipod touch 4G with ver. 4.1, also each one has somewhat different cycles from 2500 - 3500 depending on game..so average cycle 3000

cfg

[dosbox]

[sblaster]
#sbtype=none

[render]
frameskip=0

[cpu]
core=normal
cycles=3000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
#rate=22050
#blocksize=8192
prebuffer=100

[midi]
mpu401=none
mididevice=none

[speaker]
#pcspeaker=false

[render]
scaler=none

-----
On GC I am FPEX
10-28-2010, 04:42 PM
#9
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 686
Does anyone have speech working in Discworld?

Edit: Wrong version

Last edited by markx2; 10-28-2010 at 04:55 PM.
10-28-2010, 06:36 PM
#10
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,359
Wolfenstein 3D

[CPU]
core=normal
cycles=1600
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

Works near perfect with AdLib/Sound Blaster audio.