★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Iphone 4 retina games on ipad?

11-29-2010, 05:36 PM
#1
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 575
Iphone 4 retina games on ipad?

How can i use the 2x zoom function on my ipad for a iphone game, and let it show in retina rather then stretching the game?

Thanks.
11-29-2010, 06:49 PM
#2
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,206
You can't. An iPhone game that doesn't support the iPad will play in normal 480x320 (pixel doubled in 2x). I doubt Apple will allow the iPad to play Retina-supporting games in full 960x640 because it could cannibalize iPad-specific HD version sales, which could piss off developers.

Either wait for the devs to make their iPhone app universal or release an HD version specific to iPad.

[Relax with Galactic Chill] [Let me tell you a story.]
Currently working on: Music for Spirit Hunter Mineko

11-29-2010, 10:38 PM
#3
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,076
Now that iPad is on iOS 4.x, the necessary methods should be baked in. I don't forsee it being a problem to add this to Retinasizer; in fact I was holding off on the update until now for that reason

There is one catch: the iPad has a unique aspect ratio. So retina games can either be stretched (disproportionately) or the extra space can be empty (black).

😈
11-29-2010, 11:03 PM
#4
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,096
I'm guessing/betting that jailbroken iPads can maybe already do that?

I don't really know, because I don't have an iPad, nor have I ever used jailbreak. But seems like they have hacks for just about anything that Apple won't allow.
11-30-2010, 12:57 AM
#5
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by sticktron View Post
There is one catch: the iPad has a unique aspect ratio. So retina games can either be stretched (disproportionately) or the extra space can be empty (black).
I would have thought that it would work exactly like the current 2x mode, but without the interpolation.

In other words, black borders.

What do you get when you cross Robotron with Bomberman? - Coverfire HD
11-30-2010, 03:44 AM
#6
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 10,505
Yep. I vote for those black borders too.
11-30-2010, 05:54 AM
#7
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,076
OK. I don't have an iPad (nor have I ever used one, except on jailbreakme day when I was busy JB'ing them in the Apple Store ) so I wasn't sure how it handled the size difference.

I'll see what I can do (hard to test without an iPad though... one of these days I have to sit down and get mobilesubstrate compiled for the Simulator).

😈
11-30-2010, 03:56 PM
#8
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
It doesn't work for all apps, but you could give Fullforce a try. It's free from Cydia.

There's some more info here.

http://www.simonblog.com/2010/05/29/...l-screen-mode/
12-04-2010, 06:36 PM
#9
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,076
Preliminary tests have been successful.
I can launch a game designed for 2x mode in 1x mode with 960x640 resolution.

Release is imminent.

😈
12-04-2010, 06:39 PM
#10
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 10,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by sticktron View Post
Preliminary tests have been successful.
I can launch a game designed for 2x mode in 1x mode with 960x640 resolution.

Release is imminent.
Awesome!